Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for 55" D8000 Series 8SMART 3D Full HDLED TV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

55" D8000 Series 8SMART 3D Full HDLED TV

The Samsung LED Series 8000 Smart TV is all about a transformative, immersive experience delivered with style and intelligence. The integrated and innovative Smart Hub, which allows you to interact with your TV, ensures everything from surfing the internet on your TV to flicking through pics and home movies is effortless and loads more fun. Whether you’re watching a movie or listening to music, you will instantly notice the superior 3D Experience, which is ready to re-invent your world of entertainment. And with a sophisticated design to match, which puts you right in the middle of the action, and supreme connectivity for seamless streaming – you have a very stylish and intelligent TV to enjoy.
Rating:
4.76 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(591 Reviews) 591
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 591 reviews
5 stars
503
4 stars
56
3 stars
18
2 stars
6
1 star
8
513 out of 541(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for 55" D8000 Series 8SMART 3D Full HDLED TV
Review 1 for 55" D8000 Series 8SMART 3D Full HDLED TV
Customer Avatar
mmhook40
From birmingham
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Picture quality is just outstanding

Posted20 September 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted20 September 2012
"I am a TV engineer and I have seen over 25 years the progression of TVs. My family know this is my new baby and with good reason. This tv will grow with me as you update its software like my PC I just hope it does not end up as my TED giving me grief if I metion LG .
This TV outstrips all the competition. The poor curry’s sales guy did not stand a chance trying to explain all its functions as I did my homework first. Since I have had it home I have watched in awe of the picture quality. Bright real colours and as real as you could hope to wish for and the Xbox is just awesome. Using my Samsung s3 to control the tv as a mouse is great along with the keyboard and the voice function of the remote. The motion control is a bit hard to get used too. The only thing I would have a bad thing to say is the interactive (smart) side is the lack of apps; Netflix is not like the Xbox app and harder to use. If can be a bit slow to connect but I know with upgrades all these things will be fixed. The setting up was easy using the optical out to my surround sound AV amp works a dream. I am a hard man to plz when it comes to TVs as I see pictures every day of the week on other peoples TVs and very critical. But I have been selling this to all my customers and the advantages of having a single hub for streamed and off air programs.
So 100% thumbs up to my new TED we will grow together and look forward to many years of entertainment with my new found baby. Thank you Samsung………………………………
"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, met all my expectations and more
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 55" D8000 Series 8SMART 3D Full HDLED TV
Customer Avatar
misty
From truro cornwall
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this product is excellant but some upgrades rubbish

Posted09 August 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted09 August 2012
"this tv is excellant in near enough all areas except netflix and itv player which i cant get for love or money netflix keeps saying update software i go into menu on network support everytime it comes up no software found i have asked samsung questions and answers team but not one person has answered my question as for itv player it says it has to be downloaded from the internet ive tried and tried still nothing and yet recently i bought ue32eh samsung tv and this tv has done both automatically so why doesnt my 55" tv do the same so samsung if you want to restore my faith in you someone of your team PLEASE PLEASE answer my questions"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
 
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 55" D8000 Series 8SMART 3D Full HDLED TV
Customer Avatar
Chad
From Ireland
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Unreal Picture

Posted12 June 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted12 June 2012
"Cannot believe the picture quality from this TV , its stunning!! well pleased. Hand gestures are great but its faster to pick up the remote but for me the picture is all what this tv is about..."
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 55" D8000 Series 8SMART 3D Full HDLED TV
Customer Avatar
MaNiAc-Uk
From London UK
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best perchase of the year

Posted29 May 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted29 May 2012
"I love my gagets and tech was debating getting this tv for a year then i got a good deal on one and was so worth it makes other tvs look rubbish. features and functions for all tech heads and easy to use for non technical minded people. have it rigged up so i get my cctv feed via av adapter and running my htpc off it as well. well worth the money top tv."
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 55" D8000 Series 8SMART 3D Full HDLED TV
Customer Avatar
avan
From Cairns Queensland Australia
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Posted25 February 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted25 February 2012
"I have on of theses TV's and there a cut above anything else that I have owned , I have always had Samsung products ( even the PC that I am submitting this review onnow is a Samsung .. I fully reckomend the Tv to anyone who want a great pcture and quality product.. I was recently in South Korea in Ulsan to deliver a Oil Platform to Australia , I love the place and it's people ! Thanks Samsung ! I will be useing your products for many years to come.. I also purchased the 3-D 5.1 sound system that acompanies the Tv its a must for sound quality .."
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
NP900X3B Series 9 Notebook
5 out of 5(2)
 
 
 
HT-D6750W3D Blu-ray 7.1chHome Entertainment System
3.5 out of 5(4)
 
 
 
E2530
4.5 out of 5(2)
 
 
 
 
 
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 55" D8000 Series 8SMART 3D Full HDLED TV
Customer Avatar
Golfer
From Middlesex, UK
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent quality and design

Posted04 February 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted04 February 2012
"I was very anti Smart TV's but as that's all you can buy nowadays, I'm so glad I got one. The quality and design of this model is excellent. Picture quality is fantastic. If I had to criticse anything it would be the sound quality when watching concerts, but most people know that you have to sacrifice this for the sleek design. However, I believe that the soundbar more than makes up for it and I'm about to get one, but it's a shame they are so expensive."
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: logins cumbersome
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 55" D8000 Series 8SMART 3D Full HDLED TV
Customer Avatar
Gauden1
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The best TV out there right now (Feb 2012)

Posted04 February 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted04 February 2012
"Bought this TV, after much research, and previously owning Samsung TV's. Went for this model, because it's picture in the showroom stood out miles apart from other sets including other Samsung's (lower models). Picture in 2D is unbelievable - watching HD content, feels like watching it for the first time. The colour tones and clarity make things seem more realistic than ever. Saw detail in favorite movies not noticed before. 3D works well depending on the content watched. Optimised movies/sport excels and looks astounding, although 2D to 3D conversion of 2D material is not as impressive. This TV replaced a 46" LCD and it's appearance in the room does not seem as large as I thought it would. This is greatly helped by the ultra thin bezel. It's like watching through a window. Sound for me is actually very good, it's plenty loud enough, as I only need mine set to around 8-10 (can go much higher). The movie sound setting suits most things and give a warm rich feel to the sound output. I play a lot on games consoles and have now tried both Xbox 360 & PS3 on the TV, and I have to say, was blown away by how good games look on the TV. Vibrant, clear and truly as the games developers intended them to be viewed. 3D games are also astounding. Very easy to set up on the TV, and no performance loss playing the game is noticed. I did however turn Game Mode on, for the Xbox as this improves any perceived controller lag - which for my eyes, only offered a momentary delay, but some gamers out there would appreciate the zero lag of Game Mode. Overall, I am so happy I went for this model over the lower units on offer. Best TV I have ever owned."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 55" D8000 Series 8SMART 3D Full HDLED TV
Customer Avatar
Browserwowser
From Burgess Hill UK
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent picture - sound not to same standard

Posted08 January 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted08 January 2012
"The picture quality is stunning, the contrast, the colours and - since there is only a tiny bezel - it fills the screen.
We are registered deaf and the sound seems 'fluffy' to us we need a new surround sound system as the output from this TV is fibre-optic only.
We have tried the 'smart-hub' and watched an iplayer lecture all the way through without any hesitation. Unfortunately owing to the limitations on our Wifi broadband we have not been able to repeat the experience. One annoying thing is that each time we operate the smart hub we seem to have to enter the BT wireless access code again - I'm sure this is something to do with BT rather than Samsung.
We have the TV mounted on the wall (about 4 feet off the ground) with a tilting mount, this was not necessary and we have negated the advantage of the very thin screen by having a thicker mount. We would not recommend that others use this sort of mount as we have never found it necessary to tilt the screen.
We have tried the 3d effect by buying The Lion King movie and using a Samsung blu-ray player, once you remember to switch the glasses on the effect is quite magical, with this particular film you get the impression that you are watching the film take place in a sort of 3D fishtank. There are not many films available yet. The 3D transmissions from the BBC use a different sort of 3D effect with side-by-side pictures. We could not use the glasses for this.
We have Sky HD and this works fine with this TV, however we would need to upgrade our subscription to get the Sky 3D. We will not be doing that.
When people come to visit they are astonished by the quality of the picture, we can recommend this TV.
"
Pros: crystal clear picture
Cons: needs better sound
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
BD-D55003D SMART Blu-ray Player
4.5 out of 5(2)
 
 
 
 
 
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 55" D8000 Series 8SMART 3D Full HDLED TV
Customer Avatar
Lomjon
From England
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Simply the best tv around

Posted15 December 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted15 December 2011
"Delivers what it says on the box and then some. I spent weeks reviewing lots of tv's before settling for this. I thought I wouldn't use some of the features such as smart hub but I use them all. Easy to use and set up and best of all is the picture quality. It just blows you away. 3D conversion is fab. Forget the features I've told every one get this tv for the picture quality alone. Everything else is a bonus. Takes tv viewing to the next level."
Pros: Realistic color, Lightweight, picture quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 55" D8000 Series 8SMART 3D Full HDLED TV
Customer Avatar
Matt
From United Kingdom
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Posted14 November 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted14 November 2011
"Shopped around, and this was the best TV I could find - amazing television."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 55" D8000 Series 8SMART 3D Full HDLED TV
Customer Avatar
Big8000SeriesFan
From Nashville, TN
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The best TV I have ever owned hands down!

Posted14 October 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted14 October 2011
"I recently purchased this TV and have not stopped being amazed by it. There are times I find myself just sitting there looking at it while it is turned off. Say what you want, but this TV has some beautiful lines and it blows my mind how thin the beveled edge is. What I love most about the 8000 series is the 3D feature even when a program is not broadcasted in 3D. It is not the same quality as a formatted 3D show, but it adds depth to any show and makes you want to watch. My only Con for this TV would be the ECO sensor is a little too sensitive for lighting, so I just have that setting turned off. Yes I know the LED's may not last as long. It would just dim and brighten too often according to the light in the room."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 55" D8000 Series 8SMART 3D Full HDLED TV
Customer Avatar
Afer
From Glasgow
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wow amazing tv

Posted04 October 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted04 October 2011
"Wow amazing tv peeps well worth the money, just have to look at it and you want it. 3d movies and games wow dont think you will get a better tv on the market everyone has nothing but praise for this tv. you tube!!!!!!!!"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: wasn`t out way before now lol
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 55" D8000 Series 8SMART 3D Full HDLED TV
Customer Avatar
Corvette1970
From Birmingham
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic!

Posted12 June 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted12 June 2011
"I wasnt that much into watching TV but since i got myself the UE55D8000 i watch it everyday with the wife. This TV amazes me everyday. And the features it packs in are almost endless. even when it switched off its beautiful to look at. I am really happy with the purchase and cant think of any negative points. And playing a 3d game...mindblowing."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
 
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 55" D8000 Series 8SMART 3D Full HDLED TV
Customer Avatar
Maze
From Denmark
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

VERY good TV

Posted08 August 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted08 August 2012
"we just love our UE55D8000! we will recommend it to all our friends and family!"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 55" D8000 Series 8SMART 3D Full HDLED TV
Customer Avatar
blobby
From uk
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

using samsung keyboard on tv is hopeless..too slow and very poor response

Posted24 March 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted24 March 2013
"just a nightmare to do anything with the keyboard on the tv hopeless responses ..."
Pros: Bright display, keyboard with tv hopeless
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 55" D8000 Series 8SMART 3D Full HDLED TV
Customer Avatar
justybin
From London, UK
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Slow and inconsistent

Posted05 January 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted05 January 2012
"Loved this TV in the shop with it's stunning design and bright picture. However, after 6 months we are already looking at what else will come out in 2012 from a different manufacturer. However, there are so many negatives that just do not justify the price - Edge bleed, flaky firmware updates that resolve some issues but introduces others, banding, slow remote, slow smart hub, motion issues....such a shame for such a 'high end' TV."
Pros: Bright display
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 55" D8000 Series 8SMART 3D Full HDLED TV
Customer Avatar
DevB
From London
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

UnSmart TV

Posted17 October 2011
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted17 October 2011
"The Smart TV features need to improve. Youtube is unusable. Facebook app does not play any videos. For the price we pay the build-in speakers are really poor. Also the remote provided does not compliment the smart features of the TV."
Pros: design design design
Cons: Did not meet expectations, poor build-in speakers, smart tv features and apps, one one pair of active shutter glasses provided
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
8of 19voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for 55" D8000 Series 8SMART 3D Full HDLED TV
Based on the average of (574) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
499 out of 524 recommend this product
Features 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Performance 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Design 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.