Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for 46" ES8000 Series 8 SMART 3D Full HDLED TV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

46" ES8000 Series 8 SMART 3D Full HDLED TV

Experience the future of home entertainment with a more advanced TV. The Samsung 46” ES8000 Slim LED TV features Smart Interaction, which gives you intuitive control via speech or gestures. You can also access a wide world of content, apps, web browsing and more through Smart Hub. This forward-thinking TV is even prepared for the future, thanks to the ability to install Smart Evolution Kits* to improve picture and performance as well as deliver the newest features.
Rating:
3.789 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
2
10 out of 16(62%)customers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for 46" ES8000 Series 8 SMART 3D Full HDLED TV
Review 1 for 46" ES8000 Series 8 SMART 3D Full HDLED TV
Customer Avatar
Llewellyn
From Northampton, UK
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Phenomenal product!!!!!

Posted10 May 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted10 May 2013
"Whinced when i bought this tv due to the price! Un-packaging and setting up was so simple and easy, once everything was said and done, i was truly blown away!
Perfect size for the room i have set it up in, and one thing though, is it did take a while for my eyes to adjust to the incredibly thin border around the screen, but now its just awesome to watch!
The 3D capabilities have wowed everyone i showed off to.
As mentioned before, the stand is a bit annoying, luckily though, the tv stand that it rests on is just at the right height. Would also have preferred the shiny bits to be matt black, instead of silver, would have made a better impression, in my opinion.
The gesture control is a nice gimmick, but very touch and miss on this iteration, can only hope that future firmware updates fix this, but turned it off, along with the voice control, and only really turn them on again when showing off....
Overall.... a must have if you are after an all in once decent package!
"
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight
Cons: poor gesture control, non adjustable stand
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 46" ES8000 Series 8 SMART 3D Full HDLED TV
Customer Avatar
Wais
From Kabul Afghanistan
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

its really great

Posted12 March 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted12 March 2013
"i really like this tv which having everything .really i recommend this tv to all .only buy this Series ES8000."
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 46" ES8000 Series 8 SMART 3D Full HDLED TV
Customer Avatar
Emcee
From Worcester UK
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It's great, and well worth the extra

Posted11 February 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted11 February 2013
"debate between the wife and myself over this one (46inch ES8000) or an older 50 inch one at half the price. She won (nothing new there then), however I've got to admit I'm glad she did. It's a great bit of kit, allowing us to do everything we wanted to. Deal with a sound bar where we bought it has brought the sound up to A+ as well and, once set up, it's great.
I did have a couple of niggles. I couldn't get the freeview receiver to work on our aerial, I guess it needs a higher signal level, and it doesn't seem to find all of the satellite channels that the standalone receiver did either, but everything seems to be available via the internet connection and our talk talk + box to complement it. The channels it does pick up via either are fantastic in HD and pretty good in standard and it shows 3D bluray videos (and youtube ones too) off really well.
We have a slim and elegant chrome floor stand with it too. With a Blueray player, the sound bar and aforementioned TalkTalk box, the cabling was a bit tricky to hide in the provided channel, but it went in in the end.
This is also the toy for a gadget freak. There are four ways of controlling it in the box, and we've added another two with samsung mobile apps and the samsung bluetooth keyboard.
Love it."
Pros: Bright display, Durable, outstanding performance
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
HW-E45040" Soundbar withWireless Sub
4.5 out of 5(2)
 
 
 
BD-D55003D SMART Blu-ray Player
4.5 out of 5(2)
 
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 46" ES8000 Series 8 SMART 3D Full HDLED TV
Customer Avatar
Ice R
From Leicester uk
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Tv Pity about the stand

Posted06 February 2013
Posted06 February 2013
"BAD
The stand seems to be my major gripe it seems unstable, no twist option. Stand mount don't seem secure.
The othe is the sound quality pretty poor, buy I suppose if connected to a home theatre amp and speakers its not a problem. It is if it's stand alone.
GOOD
Picture is great if hung on a wall it's the appearance is outstanding, unlike other manufactures the 3d glasses are provided and additional sets comes as a pair are very cheap.
VERDICT
Great addition to home entertainment system surpasses offerings from competitors at so many levels.
"
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight, connect ability
Cons: poor stand design, gestures, voice control
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 46" ES8000 Series 8 SMART 3D Full HDLED TV
Customer Avatar
Gangy
From Farnham, Surrey, UK
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A superb product

Posted17 August 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted17 August 2012
"I bought our TV on Monday of this week and find it to be truly amazing! Don't know what the complaints are about although I have to admit, I haven't tried the voice or gesture controls mainly because I'm quite capable and prefer to press buttons on either of the two remote controls. Anyway, I bought the TV for the picture quality, not these two features. As far as sound through the internal speakers is concerned, it is quite acceptable but as I have a home theatre audio system it is not relevant. I did find that the picture factory presets were a little too gaudy for my liking but after toning down the contrast and backlighting, the results are simply stunning. Well done Samsung, a brilliant and quality product that knocks spots off your competitors!"
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, stunning styling, the smart features are better than good, ability to record tv programmes a big plus
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
16of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 46" ES8000 Series 8 SMART 3D Full HDLED TV
Customer Avatar
Westy
From Uk
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nearly there

Posted02 May 2012
Posted02 May 2012
"Super stylish TV ,Fantastic 3D a big improvement from my previous set a C8000,but the voice and movement controls are a waste of time,the TV cannot distinguish spoken words above the sounds of its own speakers and so is unusable as for the motion control the problem here is that the icons don't stay on screen long enough for the user to decide what to do, so a bit frustrating, However don't suppose anyone would use these features much above the initial novelty rating and I didn't buy it for these functions, Would have been more helpful to have included a Bluetooth keyboard and mouse which is available as an extra,However this remains the best TV you can buy and is super stylish"
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 46" ES8000 Series 8 SMART 3D Full HDLED TV
Customer Avatar
Johnny B G
From London
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great picture quality, sleek design and impressive 3D!

Posted16 April 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted16 April 2012
"One word can describe this TV - Quality. Great picture and sound with better than expected voice and motion control. Impressed with the new design with the thinner bezel and the new arch base. Could have come with a few more 3D glasses though."
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight, design
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 46" ES8000 Series 8 SMART 3D Full HDLED TV
Customer Avatar
Debbymilly
From Merseyside, UK
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Almost Perfect

Posted15 August 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted15 August 2013
"I really love the picture quality and gadgets on this TV. My main gripe is that I have had to switch off Voice Recognition and Motion control. We watch all TV and films through surround sound and this would randomly set off the Voice Recognition even though it is only supposed to react to the command 'Hi TV' to start up. I have a mirror that is opposite the TV and this randomly set off Motion Control. I used hear the VR kick in from another room and walk into the room and Skype would be on or a game app. I am also not keen on the 3D glasses due to the style as you can still see a lot of your surroundings. I would prefer the style like you get in the cinema."
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: voice recognition to sensitive
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 46" ES8000 Series 8 SMART 3D Full HDLED TV
Customer Avatar
Imti
From London
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Product

Posted30 December 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted30 December 2012
"I just bought this tv 2 days before. Excellent design and this is a good product. But the limitation is the samsung keyboard doesn't work with the youtube and other apps. Samsung should update the software or do something so that we can use the keyboard with the tv."
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 46" ES8000 Series 8 SMART 3D Full HDLED TV
Customer Avatar
LossLeader
From Cambridge
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Looks good but there are lots of user interface problems

Posted16 June 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted16 June 2012
"Looks are excellent, sound ordinary but - although speech recognition is outstanding for internet browsing - it cannot handle even simple commands once the TVs own sound is on. We have not managed to get gesture control to work (but maybe that was our incompetence). I was delighted to see that iPlayer is now available but dissappointed to find that my set would not allow the firmware update via USB which Samsung instruct me to install in order to get iPlayer to work. So we are still stuck without."
Pros: Bright display
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 46" ES8000 Series 8 SMART 3D Full HDLED TV
Customer Avatar
OmegaSaiyanX
From London
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great looking tv but plagued with the usual problems

Posted11 April 2012
Posted11 April 2012
"I got this tv last week and after the firmware upgrades and tweaking of the settings I still have very bad clouding, torchlighting in all four corners, bleeding and LED's show at the bottom.
When watching in a dark room with a movie on all these issues highlight themselves a lot and can be very annoying and distracting something I did not expect considering this is Samsungs new flagship model.
Overall a great looking tv, superb features but a bit sluggish odd given that it has a dual core cpu running at 1ghz would have thought the response of the tv would have been much faster over the previous models but it is not.
Also for some strange reason Samsung has decided to degrade the number of HDMI sockets to 3, last years models had 4. Personally I would have removed the ancient scart socket which would have freed up some space and included 5 hdmi sockets.
Also if you look around you can see that the tv is not put together very well either, the metal frame around the tv doesnt seem to line up correctly, back metal plating is a bit loose, the stand is made of plastic.
There also seems to be an electric current going through the metal casing around the tv!
"
+25points
28of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 46" ES8000 Series 8 SMART 3D Full HDLED TV
Customer Avatar
Snowy
From London
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great picture & design but Smart TV Apps... where is BBC iPlayer??

Posted02 April 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted02 April 2012
"The picture is good but needs adjusting out the box to get the best results. The design is just awesome, thin bezel is fab.
Voice and movement control is ok but if you can lay your hands on a remote thats what you're gonna use.
As for the Smart TV......... humm, mixed views. Nice to have easy access to youtube, Netflix, usb photos etc, but missing the killer app BBC iPlayer. Could be cos this model is just released, hope so, otherwise this is a big backward step from the C8000.
"
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight, design
Cons: smart tv apps
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 46" ES8000 Series 8 SMART 3D Full HDLED TV
Customer Avatar
Chris D
From London, United Kingdom
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good but weak smart tv functions

Posted30 March 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted30 March 2012
"It is a great TV with good picture and sound, looks good, and has two great remote controls, voice control and gesture control.
However the Smart TV interactive function no longer includes BBC iPlayer seen on earlier Smart TV models and iPlayer cannot be accessed via the web browser. This is a major oversight and a shame because the TV is otherwise very good.
Samsung need to make their software development as good as their hardware."
Pros: Durable, Realistic color
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 46" ES8000 Series 8 SMART 3D Full HDLED TV
Customer Avatar
Dermo
From Scotland
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Product not worth it!

Posted09 October 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted09 October 2012
"We were told this tv had a great viewing angle! Not true! As soon as you look at the tv with the least bit angle, picture is very grey with no colour. Also, we were also told that this is the best type of tv for the light....yet, what was so annoying was being able to see the back of my wall and my lamp on the tv screen. The 3d wasn't the best and the glasses you get with the tv are awful! Standard definition is very grainy, black areas are very grainy also, all in all, was very disappointed in this tv for the price."
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 46" ES8000 Series 8 SMART 3D Full HDLED TV
Customer Avatar
Sybil-fluffywhiskers
From Derby UK
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

TV picture great but overall package let down by SMART TV function.

Posted22 May 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted22 May 2012
"Having owned the 46" C (2010), D (2011), and E (2012) 8000 versions of Samsung's LED range, I am glad to have this chance to air my views.
The picture quality noticeably improved each year. The Ultimate Micro Dimming on the ES8000 is simply excellent.
The SMART TV function and its predecessors let the TV down. I was so disappointed I did not keep any TV for long. The user interface is slow, non-intuitive, prone to freezes/crashes and generally off-putting.
Samsung make a point of mentioning the dual-processor in the ES8000, but actually I noticed no improvements on the D8000.
I was also disappointed that the 2012 model did not feature BBC iPlayer in the Apps, unlike 2010 and 2011 versions.
I did not use the voice-control or motion-activation functions - they take too much setting up and are not of interest to me anyway.
"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight, attractive aesthetic.
Cons: Did not meet expectations, smart tv disappointing.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 46" ES8000 Series 8 SMART 3D Full HDLED TV
Customer Avatar
JLJ1
From UK
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Beautiful design, major visual impact but no iPlayer or LoveFilm and NetFlix is troublesome...

Posted06 April 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted06 April 2012
"Couldn't be happer with the TV as a whole but the absence of iPlayer, LoveFilm, etc really lets this set down and whilst I accept that it's new, these are significant omisions. Come on Samsung, what's happening?"
Pros: Bright display, easy to navigate, good sound, easy to set up
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
9of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 46" ES8000 Series 8 SMART 3D Full HDLED TV
Customer Avatar
Loss Leader
From Cambridge UK
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Very Good Samsung Support

Posted22 June 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted22 June 2012
"The Support Team at Samsung have now helped me to update the Firmware of my TV so iPlayer now works. They do know their stuff."
Pros: good tech support
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 46" ES8000 Series 8 SMART 3D Full HDLED TV
Customer Avatar
Upset
From West Midlands
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Too much too soon

Posted08 November 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted08 November 2012
"1 - The TV responds hand signals only when it feels like it.
2 - The TV responds to voice control only when it feels like it.
3 - Trying to use the internet is labourious and slow.
4 - There has been a blue line down the screen almost the whole time we have had the TV.
"
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 46" ES8000 Series 8 SMART 3D Full HDLED TV
Customer Avatar
Richard
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Looks better than it performs

Posted13 April 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted13 April 2012
"I bought this tv to replace my old D8000 model. Although the set looks even more stunning than the D8000 (if that's possible) the same old issues still exist. Most notably the set suffers from banding especially during football and really really awful backlight bleed even on "movie" mode with the backlight as low as 8.
Quite why these same old problems remain (and in this case are more apparent on the ES8000) is a mystery to me."
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+18points
22of 26voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.