Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for 40" ES5500 Series 5 SMART Full HD LED TV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

40" ES5500 Series 5 SMART Full HD LED TV

Discover a TV that offers vivid viewing and a diverse range of entertainment. The Samsung 40” ES550 LED TV lets you access online Smart Hub content and services, and you can even make big-screen Skype video calls. You’ll also be able to record and store TV shows and movies to USB memory sticks and external hard disk drives thanks to Extended Personal Video Recorder Ready. And, with Wide Colour Enhancer Plus, all your entertainment will be delivered with vibrant colour.
Rating:
4.118 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
13 out of 17(76%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for 40" ES5500 Series 5 SMART Full HD LED TV
Review 1 for 40" ES5500 Series 5 SMART Full HD LED TV
Customer Avatar
empress48
From Macclesfield, Cheshire
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Our First LED TV Experience

Posted28 February 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted28 February 2013
"The TV and all its features are easy to set up and use. If you want to use internet browsing and other features you need a lot to type i recommend to get a wireless keyboard.
The picture is very clear especially watching Full HD blu rays.
Be aware the clarity of the picture always depends on the source. There is a massive difference in broadcasting upscaled programs and full HD programs.
The sound is surprisingly excellent as i heard many slim line LED TVs lack in this department. But to get the full sound experience of blu-rays i would recommend external speakers. It doesn't need a lot. We opted for a 2.1 soundbar and are blown away by it.
The design is just perfect. It doesn't look like a massive black box like our old LCD TV.
Value for money is great as we didn't pay the full retail price. It's worth shopping around for good offers especially for this model.
"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 40" ES5500 Series 5 SMART Full HD LED TV
Customer Avatar
sewales
From Monmouthshire, Wales
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great picture and very stylish

Posted17 February 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted17 February 2013
"Easy to set up and works well with other equipment. Only problems so far are the lack of a facility to change the picture size for the Lovefilm app and the lack of connectivity options for PCs without HDMI outputs. For Lovefilm this means that a widescreen film displays in the squashed 4:3 format. The lack of a VGA input means that connection to the PC is limited to the Allshare facility. Nevertheless it is a bargain at the current price."
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive
Cons: pc connectivity, lovefilm format
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 40" ES5500 Series 5 SMART Full HD LED TV
Customer Avatar
DOBBIE
From COLCHESTER
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GREAT PRODUCT EASY SET UP

Posted05 February 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted05 February 2013
"i PREVIOUSLY OWNED ONE OF THESE UNTIL I BROKE IN MY RECENT MOVE SO WHEN MONEY CAME THROUGH I HAD NO HESITATION I GETTING THIS TV. SOUND COLOR AND PICTURES ARE ALL EXCELLENT. VERY EASY TO SET UP, I PUT MINE ON A WALL BRACKET AND WAS SURPRISED HOW LIGHT THE TV WAS AS I WAS DUBIOUS IN DOING THIS. WHEN SKY WAS ATTACHED THE HD QUALITY COMES THROUGH AND THE SOUND QUALITY TOO.
BUY ONE NOW!!!!!!!!!!!
"
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 40" ES5500 Series 5 SMART Full HD LED TV
Customer Avatar
Oliver
From Sheffield, UK
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent product, very good picture etc.

Posted04 January 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted04 January 2013
"Overall excellent, but awaiting software update to 1025 or above to enable us to watch ITV1 etc on BBC I Player. When will this be available?"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: requires software update to 1025 or above.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 40" ES5500 Series 5 SMART Full HD LED TV
Customer Avatar
Leese
From Cheshire
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

SAMSUNG UE40ES5500

Posted17 December 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted17 December 2012
"Bought this TV for the internet and demand TV, which you only get BBC and ITV player as it is advertised. The internet will not play anything over the internet like demand 5, 4 od or even pictures stored online. Wish I had bought a cheaper TV and a youview box would have given me more flexibility."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 40" ES5500 Series 5 SMART Full HD LED TV
Customer Avatar
mariaw66
From South Wales UK
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a great tv, good value with excellent features

Posted01 November 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted01 November 2012
"I love this tv, my other tv was a Samsung LED, but I wanted a Smart tv, I picked this one as it has excellent features but not the price to go with it. I mostly use it for the I player services and have since found that, with a USB stick I can take my HDD recorder out of my system and use the series link feature to record to my stick, brilliant. A Samsung DVD next I think"
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, usb device series link recording
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 40" ES5500 Series 5 SMART Full HD LED TV
Customer Avatar
big roy
From bradford
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

it is great tv

Posted22 September 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted22 September 2012
"very good tv sound good to easy to set up if you know what you are doing
the manual is poor but it has e manual
"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 40" ES5500 Series 5 SMART Full HD LED TV
Customer Avatar
valley
From milton keynes
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Software updates via USB

Posted31 July 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted31 July 2012
"Software updates via USB are impossible if the TV is wall mounted. Browsing the web without a wireless keyboard is time consuming and tedious.."
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cons: Did not meet expectations, software updates via usb, no wireless keyboard.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
3of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 40" ES5500 Series 5 SMART Full HD LED TV
Customer Avatar
Carlan14
From London
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Product

Posted11 July 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted11 July 2012
"Love this TV. Its got all the technology of the series 8 but at a significantly lower price. The apps are great, the picture quality is fab and the functions are easy to use. I love it can see why Samsung are streets ahead."
Pros: Bright display
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 40" ES5500 Series 5 SMART Full HD LED TV
Customer Avatar
Stevvie
From Milton Keynes
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Excelent picture but STILL no BBC apps after 3 months

Posted25 June 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted25 June 2012
"The picture on my TV is excellent, easily beating my mates panasonic plasma and toshiba LED. But they both have BBC iplayer working and itv player and 4od. Samsung keep saying they are coming but so is the end of my life. Also they can BOTH use the keyboard to search the youtube app I cannot. Sound is average. the standard picture is average but after tweaking it with the settings it then become excellent, So be prepared to put in a little time tweaking settings to get an excellent picture."
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: missing apps
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 40" ES5500 Series 5 SMART Full HD LED TV
Customer Avatar
vatiquette
From West Yorkshire, England
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Replacement for a Series 6 Samsung LCD TV (LE37B650)

Posted24 June 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted24 June 2012
"Replacement criteria was to have better or equal picture quality, light weight and thin for wall mounting with good Internet support - ideally with Netflix support.
All the above criteria was met or exceeded.
The only issues I have with the product is that I think it would be better to provide better connectivity for A/V and power at the side or under the TV to make wall mounting more practical. However, I suspect most TVs suffer from this oversight.
After mounting the TV I found that I could no longer make effective use of the phono jacks and making the Wii unusable. I also miss the audio out phono sockets for hooking up to my A/V receiver."
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: connectivity when wall mounted
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 40" ES5500 Series 5 SMART Full HD LED TV
Customer Avatar
Carl
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing picture and beautiful aesthetically!

Posted15 June 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted15 June 2012
"I purchased this TV recently and am so impressed with it. Not only is it incredibly thin, with a beautiful design the picture quality is great (particularly HD) but it also has an impressive feature set, particularly for the price.
I was obviously disappointed that the BBC iPlayer App wasn't available but I believe this is being developed so not a big concern. An excellent TV that I would definitely recommend."
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 40" ES5500 Series 5 SMART Full HD LED TV
Customer Avatar
Sudi
From West Midlands
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

NOt immpressed with this tv

Posted11 June 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted11 June 2012
"Purchased this Smart HDTV picture is not impressive, 3 years old samsung tv was better. NO Iplayer, no ITV player, Very disappointed with this name."
Cons: Poor quality, Not high def, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-17points
3of 23voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for 40" ES5500 Series 5 SMART Full HD LED TV
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
4 out of 4 recommend this product
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.