Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for STB-E7500 Smart High DefinitionFreeview Recorder with 500Gb HDD

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

STB-E7500 Smart High DefinitionFreeview Recorder with 500Gb HDD

Bring convenience to your home entertainment with the Samsung STB-E7500M Set-Top Box. Thanks to Picture in Picture functionality, you can watch two channels at once, or watch one while browsing the web. You can also record two channels simultaneously, so you don’t have to miss a thing. With the STB-E7500M, you can enjoy entertainment outside the living room, too. Smart View allows you to watch TV on compatible Samsung devices like smartphones and tabs, while Remote Access even lets you stay entertained when you’re away from home.
Rating:
3.357 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
5 stars
2
4 stars
5
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
2
8 out of 13(62%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for STB-E7500 Smart High DefinitionFreeview Recorder with 500Gb HDD
Review 1 for STB-E7500 Smart High DefinitionFreeview Recorder with 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
From UK
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Delighted

Posted07 September 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted07 September 2012
"When I first hooked it up the setup screen did not appear. It took a bit of trial and error for me to get to the set up screen (the manual could be better). Once into it everything was straight forward, the machine did it all. Connected wifi to my PC {dead easy), and the updates and upgrades took no time at all. I've only had it a couple of days and I'm still finding my way around it, but the more I play with it the more delighted I am. This is a great machine."
Pros: Inexpensive, lots of features
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for STB-E7500 Smart High DefinitionFreeview Recorder with 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
From Denham, Englan
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent piece of kit

Posted26 April 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted26 April 2012
"Because I have used Samsung products before, I took the gamble on an unreviewed product. Had it less than a week and I am very impressed, easy set up (patience needed while in upgrades itself!) because it does so much; freview hd player; pvr recorder, internet connection, allshare (great) would like to be able to play dvd's from my internal pc dvd player, currenly have to copy to pc."
Pros: easy to setup/use
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for STB-E7500 Smart High DefinitionFreeview Recorder with 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
From England
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great product, let down by limited Smart Hub app choice.

Posted31 July 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted31 July 2013
"Overall a great HD TV tuner and recorder that also allows anyone with a DLNA server (such as a Synology NAS) to play content from their server seamlessly. That biggest failure (and it is a very big failure in my eyes) is the limited range of apps available on the Smart Hub. Those that are available include BBC iPlayer, Netflix, LoveFilm and BlinkBox amongst others and these all work very well. Those that I would like to see are 4oD and Spotify in particular. Maybe I am rather demanding but give me these and a completely redesigned smartphone app and I will be very happy."
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for STB-E7500 Smart High DefinitionFreeview Recorder with 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
From Essex
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

SMART HUB

Posted26 January 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted26 January 2013
"Very annoyed that there are no internet radio apps available as on other models such as VTuner & Shoutcast, a backward step for what is supposed to be the latest model"
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for STB-E7500 Smart High DefinitionFreeview Recorder with 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
From Cambridgeshire
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A very smart PVR

Posted20 September 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted20 September 2012
"Because this unit is not just a standard PVR and has lot's of different functions, patience is required to get to know your way around it. Once you have got used to it you will find it a very enjoyable piece of kit."
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for STB-E7500 Smart High DefinitionFreeview Recorder with 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
From Swindon
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love what it does... but some features are still not present

Posted03 June 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted03 June 2012
"I bought a Samsung TV back in 2009 which claimed it had the BBC iPlayer. Two and a half years later it still doesn't, and firmware updates do not work. I bought this box as it claimed to do it now. It doesn't... Loads of Samsung products for the past few years have claimed to have the iPlayer (or as an 'imminent update' if you check the small print.) To date this has never been true and apparently will never be for the older products. I look forward to the day when someone can write a review on here and announce that there is a real firmware update to achieve this. The media playing network software is still too clonky also. I don't understand why interfaces seem so difficult for Samsung to do when they have clearly understood that connectivity is the main new feature that people want in their AV set-up."
Pros: good picture
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for STB-E7500 Smart High DefinitionFreeview Recorder with 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
From henstridge, Somerset
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A big improvement on my old pvr

Posted28 April 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted28 April 2012
"After returning a unit due to issues with firmware 1005.1 my replacement is running 1003.1 and it works fine for timer recording (would not on 1005.1)
Samasung Have admitted an issue and fix due out soon.
Easy setup just need to be take time setting it all up.
Mine over wifi and performance is great in allshare etc.
Also the lack of missing apps that are on the box but these should come eventually."
Pros: feature rich
Cons: buggy firmware
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for STB-E7500 Smart High DefinitionFreeview Recorder with 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
From London
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Excellent player, let down by SmartHub

Posted27 November 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted27 November 2012
"Having had this product for 4 months, I have found that whilst the build quality is very good. LoveFilm and the iPlayer eventually came and the work well. The WiFi works well. The picture and sound are good. The upscaling of DVDs is excellent in my opinion.
Lacking, however, are the apps for ITV Player, 4oD, Blinkbox and 5 on demand (the latter not a huge loss). These are all available on sister devices and I feel wholly let down having bought an expensive product that I had hoped would serve me for the next 5 years +. By the way, AceTrax Movies is appalling, this is not a selling point."
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for STB-E7500 Smart High DefinitionFreeview Recorder with 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
From Edinburgh, Scotland
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

As a PVR recorder it performs very well but the additional features let it down

Posted05 November 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted05 November 2012
"As a PVR recorder it performs very well, but the major issue I have with it is the remote control to unit performance is terrible. I have to point the control unit vertically up (away from the PVR unit) to make it control the PVR unit, and it is very hit/miss if the unit registers the button press. Due to this it makes using the PVR box very frustrating and the internet interface useless, as you scan the cursor around the screen by using the controller, and it takes for ever. I would also love a jump (fast forward function) greater than 10 seconds, becasue the general adverts are on for 4 minutes, I would like to set this to a 2 minute jump. I currently fast forward, through the adverts but struggle to get it to play at the right time due to the remote control problem. Another dislike is Samsung do not have a 4od (channel 4) or channel 5 application. This would be a brilliant addition to the apps available.
On a positive, the box is easy to set up and looks brilliant.
"
Pros: Bright display
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for STB-E7500 Smart High DefinitionFreeview Recorder with 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
From Finland
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Few bugs

Posted12 October 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted12 October 2012
"Why doesnt recording have weekly recording mode? My 5 years old samsung has it.
When you record programs their name are from previous program, wich is wrong.
I hope that some updates will apear soon...."
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for STB-E7500 Smart High DefinitionFreeview Recorder with 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
From Blackpool
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good product

Posted27 April 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted27 April 2012
"Shame about itvplayer bbciplayer love film would not have bought it at that price cheaper ones on market with these features should do"
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for STB-E7500 Smart High DefinitionFreeview Recorder with 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
From Andover, Hampshire, U.K.
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A quality piece of hardware..... let down by some bugs.

Posted21 April 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted21 April 2012
"Easy set up and brilliant picture quality from SD & HD channels alike. However the smart hub doesn't contain Lovefilm or BBC iplayer which are half the reason I bought the product. I have reported this to Samsung customer services and they are investigating. I know this is a brand new piece of hardware but you would have thought these 2 features would be available considering their logos are plastered all over the box. I also have had problems with the sound output from the HD channels, sometimes they output 5.1 sound and sometimes they don't. If it works and i change the channel and then come back the multi track sound disappears. I output sound via HDMI to a receiver by bitstreaming, the same thing happens using PCM, hopefully these things can be fixed in firmware updates."
Pros: good design
Cons: software glitches
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for STB-E7500 Smart High DefinitionFreeview Recorder with 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Lies the features you buy it for you dont get!!!

Posted26 April 2013
Posted26 April 2013
"this is one of the worst supported products ive had the miss fortune to purchase!!!! Your given the impression this device can be laiden with a plethora of apps...... but none of those that samsung advertised. I bought this device to record, give high definition, stream recorded media, internet and very very importantly use tv catch up services. The only tv catch up service available is iplayer, none of the others. Internet has no flash support and i cant stream recordings from the box. The only god send on it is plex (nothing to do with samsung) because other wise you cant watch mkvs over a network on it!!!. It locks up frequently........ come on samsung this thing is a dual core processor and running linux. My raspberrypi achieves more than this on lower hardware with the same os. Samsung have some very innovative products but drop development way to soon and all down to software issues."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for STB-E7500 Smart High DefinitionFreeview Recorder with 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
From West Yorkshire
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Would be great but for one almighty drawback.

Posted10 July 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted10 July 2012
"This PVR does not pause and rewind live TV! Yes one of the defining features of a PVR is absent from this machine and for me that negates completely any plus points it may have. To record TV in 'real time as opposed to programmed recording you have to press the 'Timeshift' function, which then starts recording, if you have not done this then it's just tough if you want to rewind something you have just watched. I wish I could send it back but Direct TV's who sold it to me will not take it as technically it is not faulty and I had it over seven days before I contacted them. So a double whammy for me; dreadful customer service in my opinion from Direct TV's and a useless product. Caveat Emptor is all I can say."
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
7of 14voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.