Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for SMT-S7800High DefinitionFreesat Recorderwith 500Gb HDD

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

SMT-S7800High DefinitionFreesat Recorderwith 500Gb HDD

The sleek and stylish Samsung S7800 Freesat HD PVR (Personal Video Recorder) provides choice and flexibility with the ability to record up to 250 hours of standard definition or 120 hours of high definition recording with its 500GB of storage. No longer do you have to watch the channel you want to record with the in-built twin tuner, you can record one channel whilst watching another. If you have missed a programme download it from BBC iPlayer or ITV player* (Coming soon) or view content online via YouTube exclusively with Samsung.
Rating:
3.081 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(62 Reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 62 reviews
5 stars
13
4 stars
13
3 stars
14
2 stars
10
1 star
12
28 out of 59(47%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for SMT-S7800High DefinitionFreesat Recorderwith 500Gb HDD
Review 1 for SMT-S7800High DefinitionFreesat Recorderwith 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
From Worthing West Sussex
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great product

Posted24 April 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted24 April 2013
"I've had this box now for just under a year had I reviewed this box back then it would have been two stars due to a number of issues revolving around the Library disappearing on a regular irregular basis.
However I persevered with the product and thanks to a couple of updates its now running perfectly and I'm glad I did stick with it .
The picture quality is superb the menu is very easy to use ie my wife was up and running with it almost immediately and as for myself I find that the user experience is far superior to the sky product I was originally using.
It now has both BBC Iplayer and ITV player available on the Freesat EPG and can also access you tube via the samsung apps its a great shame that Samsung have not added apps for Lovefilm or netflix as that would make this a truly must have product.
One whinge would be the extremely poor remote ok it does all you want but the design and the feel of the thing is cheap and nasty this does however seem to be a common issue with all samsung product.
"
Pros: Bright display, fantastic picture quality, easy to use
Cons: poor quality remote
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SMT-S7800High DefinitionFreesat Recorderwith 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
From London
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good product

Posted09 December 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted09 December 2012
"Having changed from the top of the range sky + HD box and associated remote control, it took a little time to get used to the slightly slower response of the samsung remote. Overall the remote is of a build quality as expected from within this price range although as stated above, there is a slight delay in responsiveness when compared to Sky+ HD box. Excepting this point, the Samsung product is of a high quality, it does what it says on the box. One suggestion is that you download the latest patch from the samsung support website so that you can ensure you are dealing with the most bug free revision of the software. BBC I player and ITV player are both well implemented within the box, as is the youtube representation named webtv (requires an ethernet connection by patch lead to your router).
All in all, happy with the first 24 hours, will update a review in 3 months."
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SMT-S7800High DefinitionFreesat Recorderwith 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
From Uk
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good purchase

Posted25 November 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted25 November 2012
"I bought this Samsung free sat box and found the remote tricky to get used to and has the tendency to jam up at times. When its working the picture quality is brilliant and the web feature in all its a good box. Main prob with it is when it rains heavy or light you get interference."
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: jams up
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SMT-S7800High DefinitionFreesat Recorderwith 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
From London
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awful remote. best quality picture. Needs 1TB drive

Posted01 November 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted01 November 2012
"I love the machine but find the remote control very poorly laid out. The OK button is too small and the navigation buttons should not be at the bottom of the remote. it would help if illuminated as well. . Look to Tivo for how a remote should be designed. I fitted a WD green 2TB hardrive without any issues."
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SMT-S7800High DefinitionFreesat Recorderwith 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
From Derbys. UK
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great picture quality & ease of use

Posted24 June 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted24 June 2012
"After having sky HD+ for several years, and wasting a lot of money, I decided to change to this unit and Wow!! the picture quality outshines sky hands down, and the HD.....well, who needs 3D! All in all a great unit, easy to setup, easy to use, easy to program your recordings & sort, and uses the existing sky dish."
Cons: blue led too bright.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SMT-S7800High DefinitionFreesat Recorderwith 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
From Yorkshire UK
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is the most amazing piece of equipment I have ever owned.

Posted29 March 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted29 March 2012
"Wow! What can I say? The technical specifications and performance of this exceptional Freesat box simply take my breath away. I have had absolutely no problems. Recording programmes is so easy and the Library contents are always there just when I need them. Samsung has done it again. Go out and buy one immediately; don't hesitate, you will be the envy of all your friends."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SMT-S7800High DefinitionFreesat Recorderwith 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
From Sussex
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Cracking freesat + box

Posted24 September 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted24 September 2011
"This machine is way better than the other leading manufacturers box with the brand beginning with Hu. The software and interface are far superior. You get a mini screen in the corner of the channel listing. You can record either the current program or the whole series by simply pressing the record button when watching a live program. The main competitor does not let you do this.
Far and away a superior machine. Simply a must if you have previously had a Pay TV box for satelite TV.
"
Pros: superior than competitors box
Cons: takes time to boot
I would recommend this to a friend!
+20points
21of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SMT-S7800High DefinitionFreesat Recorderwith 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
From South Coast
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great freesat PVR with lots of extras. Powerful access to networked media (but rather cumbersome)

Posted12 September 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted12 September 2011
"This is probably the best freesat digital television recorder. Great HD and superb programme guide. Nice to use and reliable. With all its extras it knocks spots off Sky+ HD and without any subscription.
As well as freesat, you get the BBC iPlayer and also Youtube. It also lets you access all your XVID and MPG videos on your home computer (and photos and music) through its ethernet connection.
Its media sharing is very powerful, but Samsung need to put a little effort into making it less cumbersome. This is how you do it:
- Press Menu
- Navigate to Media. Press OK.
- Choose from Photo, Music, Video or All (Why is Photo at the top, not All or Video?). Press OK.
- Select Network rather than HDD. Press OK.
- Select your networked computer from the list. Press OK.
- Select from Music, Pictures, Playlists or Video (Why is Music at the top, not Video?). Press OK.
- Select Folders from the list of options. Press OK.
- Success!! You are looking at the videos etc on your computer's shared drive. Navigate to the one you want and play it.
But why is it such a long procedure? Why is Folders the 3rd option for Videos, the 8th option for Music and the 4th option for Pictures?
Being able to access shared videos on your computer from the Samsung SMT-S7800 is a great feature. You no longer need a dedicated Media Centre in the lounge, but Samsung need to make it easier to use. PLEASE."
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, user interface, reliable, very low power consumption, no subscription, choice of hd channels, iplayer, youtube, access to your own video library, xvid and mpg support
Cons: shared media access cumbersome
I would recommend this to a friend!
+40points
41of 42voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for SMT-S7800High DefinitionFreesat Recorderwith 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
From Winchester
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent HDR

Posted14 July 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted14 July 2011
"In my earlier review, I expressed a reservation about the sound level reverting to a default after the unit entered low power standby. Following advice, I have now fixed this by changing the sound settings. I now consider this freesat+ HDR to be the best Freeview+, freesat+ or Sky+ PVR I have used and I would recommend it."
Pros: Inexpensive, easy to use, quality product, attractive user interface, responsive
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for SMT-S7800High DefinitionFreesat Recorderwith 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
From Wales
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Much Improved software

Posted04 July 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted04 July 2011
"I bought my samsung freesat box in May. There were some problems recording film 4 and there being multi recordings of a few seconds of some channels. However since the firmware update of June 23rd all is perfect. Picture and recordings are faultless. The customer service was excellent with fast replies to my E mails. My question is, will Samsung add extra internet channels ie. Lovefilm and Skyplayer to the box. This really would be good!"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for SMT-S7800High DefinitionFreesat Recorderwith 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
From UK
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Impressed....

Posted01 June 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted01 June 2011
"I have been using Sky HD for a few years now, however decided to make use of the extra LNB feeds form my dish. Quite surprised at the difference in image quality between this and Sky (both using the same TV and HDMI connection). This box is a noticable improvement. I'm not sure if this is down to the compression used by Freesat vs Sky, or if it's down to the video processing in the Samsung box, or both, but I'll be using the Freesat box unless i need to use the Sky box for the subscription channles.
The Freesat interface is easy to use, start up time is quick, it can be used in non Freesat mode to tune into other Satellites and so far has proved a good buy!
There's a couple of bugs, but it seems Samsung has been quick to resolve most of them, and the updates are simple to install."
Pros: picture quality, sinmple to use
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for SMT-S7800High DefinitionFreesat Recorderwith 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
From Saltburn
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I am very happy with this PVR but

Posted10 July 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted10 July 2012
"I was very excited when I first purchased this item as I was expecting to be able to recieve all the "car=tch up" services via the smart service advertised BUT unfortunately the only catch up service available through the Samsung Smart Hub was BBC iPlayer there was no sign of itvPlayer 4catch Up or Demand FIVE, when I questioned Samsung about this they said there was only BBC service available although a press release says that BBC now allows you to search for non BBC channels! Come on Samsung lets have some Apps available on your Smart Hub and make alot of your customers very happy.I don't think I would have purchased my PVR had I known It was BBC only"
Pros: Inexpensive, matches my tv
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
 
DVD-D360DVD Player
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for SMT-S7800High DefinitionFreesat Recorderwith 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
From Staffordshire
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Cant wait for updates

Posted18 June 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted18 June 2012
"Been using the box for over a year now - and there are still some bugs especially when recording 2 HD programs at once while viewing an HD recording, and lip sync issues... But according to comments by Samsung last year, the new Freesat G2 specs should be bringing exciting new features to this box like internet apps and the long waited itv player! Come on samsung - give us the box we've been dreaming of!"
Pros: Inexpensive
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for SMT-S7800High DefinitionFreesat Recorderwith 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
From Kidderminster
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Freesat unit

Posted08 June 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted08 June 2012
"This is a great PVR compared with other boxes. My only gripes are; the blue light on the front never goes out (unless it's unplugged from the mains) - would be much better if the clock on the front stayed on instead, it would also be useful if it had a sleep-timer.
The main EPG info box could also be clearer (looks greyed-out and can be difficult to read at times), hopefully, these issues will be rectified with a future update!
Picture quality and sound is superb, the remote is well laid out and looks good - (shame there is no TV volume without selecting the TV button first).
If these minor irritations mentioned above are addressed and there was a "back button" or PIP, I would give the Samsung 5 stars.
It does however have features their main rival does not have, like the ability to record the "buffer-part" of the programme being watched but even this plus feature has no option to exclude/include the buffed-part without switching on/off in the menu first - (it's either on all the time or off)!
The menu and EPG is very user friendly and modern looking - as is the box, I think this is the best Freesat HD PVR out there - and I've tried a few!
"
Pros: Durable, Realistic color, quiet running, nice remote
Cons: no clock in standby, blue-light continuously on
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for SMT-S7800High DefinitionFreesat Recorderwith 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
From Galashiels, Scotland
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Worth consideration over the competition

Posted04 June 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted04 June 2012
"I reviewed this a few days ago and was not favourable as it would NOT allow me to playback my recordings.
I have since unplugged for 30mins and then reset to default and is now working ok, so I am now reassessing
my review to favourable as long as the problem does not recur periodically, so at present I can recommend to people!
"
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for SMT-S7800High DefinitionFreesat Recorderwith 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
From Suffolk, UK
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Best HD Freesat PVR at the moment but still has irritating bugs in the firmware.

Posted03 April 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted03 April 2012
"It is very good at its job and the menus and system does feel a lot faster than the sky hd box. The hardware is sound but Samsung still need to do some more work on the firmware. The box has the irritating habit of slowly forgetting the content on the HDD. I happens to me every 2 months and the only way to get the library content back is by undertaking a factory reset. Sadly there has not been a firmware update since last summer so I won't hold my breath that it will get patched."
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, good build quality
Cons: buggy firmware
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for SMT-S7800High DefinitionFreesat Recorderwith 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
From Loughborough
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Truth

Posted06 March 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted06 March 2012
"Well as far as this item goes it is not half bad to look at, other then the disappointing ITVPlayer sticker on the front of it with no access to ITVPlayer (which is not Samsung's fault ITV are simply dragging their heals a bit). Pro's great to look at, nice software to use, easy t operate and has am-pull space for recording in normal or HD. The downsides to this are the software is a little slow on start up but this does get faster, same with the Hu**x from what i have seen so maybe and slightly better processing unit could give Samsung a simply edge of the competition. again with the software, when pressing menu you again get a very nice display of choices to cycle through but again a bit slow until you go back over the ones you have already been over, then it gets silky smooth. The HDD did appear to have an issue at one stage but this was resolver by resetting to factory, so no major issue. I am preying that Samsung jump on the Netflix app waggon for their next update which for me would be amazing. All-in-all a good product, a few kinks to still be worked out, but nothing that some later software updates couldn't fix. I would recommend this item with a thumbs up"
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: no netflix - please add the application!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for SMT-S7800High DefinitionFreesat Recorderwith 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
From Wales
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good product good features

Posted01 January 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted01 January 2012
"Tv guide could do better with different backround colour"
Pros: Realistic color
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for SMT-S7800High DefinitionFreesat Recorderwith 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
From Coventry
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Better than the Hu**x but still room for improvement

Posted26 December 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted26 December 2011
"We changed from a Humax Foxsat-HDR recently so could perform back-to-back comparisons. Overall the Samsung is more intuitive to use. Recording is a doddle and if an HD alternative is available, the box will prompt you for which version you want (SD or HD) as does the Humax and Panasonic. Deleting files from the Library is so much quicker. The handset is ok, but lacks the key illumination feature that the Samsung TV remote has. The Humax handset is better although that too, has no illumination. We've had the box about a week now and it has already locked up once, requiring unplugging. Although a programme was recording, aside from the on/off time lost, it commenced recording upon restart which is good. We've also encountered a few problems when pausing and restarting recordings where occasionally the image has been jumping, although the sound was fine. Stopping, then restarting form last viewed position sorted this, but was very frustrating. The locking up issue seems to be a trait of HD boxes, as the Humax did it and a friend's SKY+ HD box does it too."
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
40” D6530 Series 6SMART 3D Full HDLED TV
4.1 out of 5(15)
 
 
 
BD-D65003D SMART Blu-ray Player
2.8 out of 5(4)
 
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for SMT-S7800High DefinitionFreesat Recorderwith 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
From Southend on Sea
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Feature packed smart box - but smarter than me!

Posted19 December 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted19 December 2011
"I have owned and operated this unit for around three months and agree with many other of the comments by other reviewers regarding slow boot-up, but there IS a lot of software in these modern boxes - and thereby hangs a tail! I have recently had a couple of 'freeze up' problems that seem to have sorted themselves out eventually, but did leave me in a position whereby I had to pull the plug on the device as I could not do anything with it. I seemed to have lost ALL my recorded stuff, and also had to restore to factory default which also seemed to delete everything recorded but ACTUALLY did not as it all eventually appeared when I chose LIB, but not immediately. I think there are still quite a few software bugs in this item - but then having been associated with embedded software since the early eighties, no more than any other consumer product of this type. The need to get a product into the market usually means that the 'final' software drop -if it exists - will be done when the product is in service and problem feedback has been analysed. I still have an unresolved problem when reviewing future library recordings for series in that on pressing BACK I come right out of LIB and into the current TV program rather than incrementally stepping back. If I go back in to LIB and review again the item is frozen where I left it until the next reboot.
I still think this product can save you a fortune on, say, SKY subscriptions and we now rarely watch anything other than the new on live TV as we have such a good range of recorded programs to watch - when they can be accessed! My wife watches full length Russian language films on the YouTube connection which is an excellent feature in a multinational household such as ours!
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for SMT-S7800High DefinitionFreesat Recorderwith 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
From Lincoln
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent product, good value but some user quirks

Posted15 November 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted15 November 2011
"This is a great product and for the price you will not find anything better. Generally the user experience is fine but there are a couple of things they could help with. I mated this PVR to a new Samsung LED TV bought specifically to mate with the Samsung PVR. The compatibility of the remote controls being one key benefit. However if you use the optical audio output, as I do, to feed a surround sound system, you can't alter the volume of the PVR with the STB remote control?? If you switch the digital/optical sound output off, you can alter the volume?? I have had to days only one issue with it where the recordings stored in the library all disappeared and it refused to record anything else. The only around this was to reset to factory defaults and then reformat the disk. This seems to have happened when it was recording two programmes simultaneously and I watched a third - it just switched the unit off on its own and the recordings were gone!
Mind you I had far worse than this with the previous Sky+ box."
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive
Cons: some user quirks
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for SMT-S7800High DefinitionFreesat Recorderwith 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
From Winchester
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The best freesat DTR but with one remaining fault

Posted14 July 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted14 July 2011
"The user interface with this freesat+ DTR is very good. The guide is fast and easy to navigate. The box is responsive providing freesat channels, BBC iPlayer and YouTube, with the prospect of ITV Player in the future. It is in my opinion the best freesat Digital Television Recorder.
However... the SMT-S7800 volume setting reverts to some arbitrary default (60%?) when the box moves to low power standby five minutes after being turned off (at the same time as the front display clock goes out). This is extremely annoying if you control the volume of all TV attached devices with a universal remote using only the TV volume. The SMT-S7800 should maintain the user volume setting (in my case maximum volume), not lose it every time low power standby is entered."
Pros: Inexpensive, good user interface, quality product
Cons: fails to keep user volume setting
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for SMT-S7800High DefinitionFreesat Recorderwith 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
From East Sussex
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Lot Better But Still Needs Work

Posted05 July 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted05 July 2011
"I have had my one since April 1st and to be honest until the second software update issued on June the 23rd it was nothing more than a doorstop even after a trip to the Samsung Warranty Repair Centre.
At last most of the issues have been fixed :)
Planed Recordings no longer vanish from Library/Timers.
Program ends not cut off.
HDMI Audio via A/V AMP now works.
So now the box is quite usable.
However, they have in this release introduced two new bugs one of which needs urgent attention.
If two episodes of the same series follow each other and are recorded by a series link e.g. Batman, Family Guy, The Kennedy’s the unit will not stop recording one or both of them till hours later - this can cause other planned recordings to be aborted.
If you playback a recording still being made and stop playback the resume information is not saved.
Clock display is often 15 seconds slow which I suppose could effect recordings.
I also understand that the unit does not work with the Wifi USB dongle device until yet another software update due in August."
Pros: low standby power 0.7w, remote control work well
Cons: no wifi support yet, no indication of failed recordings, no indication of new series episodes at top level
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for SMT-S7800High DefinitionFreesat Recorderwith 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
From London
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good picture quality

Posted01 June 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted01 June 2011
"I have now been using the Samsung Freesat PVR for a couple of weeks and overall I’m impressed with the performance of the product.
Of particular note, the BBC iplayer implementation performs extremely well and gives good picture quality playback. HD channels are also superb and are far superior to my old Sky STB.
I also find the EPG easily to use and like the picture in picture function.
To date I have not seen issues with recordings as highlighted with other reviews.
"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for SMT-S7800High DefinitionFreesat Recorderwith 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

No good for recording as product does not always record when it does the library list disapears so you can nnot ccess anything know prblem for most pe

Posted27 December 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted27 December 2012
"I bought this product mainly for recording and playing back again it is most unreliable as it does not always record and when it does the library list regurlarly disapears so you can not access anything. I would not buy another samsung produc"
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for SMT-S7800High DefinitionFreesat Recorderwith 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
From Glasgow
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

This satellite box is a brilliant machine, but has it's flaws!

Posted22 November 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted22 November 2012
"We purchased our Samsung SMT7800 Freesat box because we wanted to dump Sky and their exorbitant monthly fees, and we have been using this box since January 2012, the picture quality is pin sharp especially in HD, the sound quality is excellent, especially when played through a home cinema system, and the menus are actually very simple and well thought out, BUT, the box has the unfortunate habit of occasionally losing it's recorded library list, and the only way to retrieve it is to perform a factory reset, whereupon you lose your scheduled recording list, which you have to repopulate every time, I find it best to write down the list before resetting, as I have had to do this quite a few times and 2 firmware upgrades have made no difference, although they have made other parts of the box work better than it did when new! Glitches aside, this is a very good bit of kit and we certainly don't regret dumping Sky, now all we need is for more channels to be put on freesat, and it will be perfect!"
Pros: excellent picture quality
Cons: library glitches up
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for SMT-S7800High DefinitionFreesat Recorderwith 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
From Surrey
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Overall okay

Posted18 October 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted18 October 2012
"I lost all my data on my box all recordings and timings no idea how it happened or how to restore it? Besides that the box is great and been working great, but I'm still annoyed about loosing the recordings!"
Cons: issues
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for SMT-S7800High DefinitionFreesat Recorderwith 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Samsung SMT-S7800

Posted11 October 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted11 October 2012
"I purchased a SMT-S7800 on July 30th, but it has a problem, all the recorded programs in the library keeps going blank. You have to reset the Box to over come this problem????? For something that is new, and paying for a new box, all i want it to do is work like it should do. Not have to keep resetting it everytime this happens. It's a great bit of kit, and it's nice not to be ripped off with a monthly fee to get the programs. I am on the point of sending it back. If you ask me, this should not be happening, so what's wrong Samsung????"
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: recording problems
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for SMT-S7800High DefinitionFreesat Recorderwith 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
From uk
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

this is a good item

Posted01 October 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted01 October 2012
"But, the software is out of date it needs updating. and that led does my head in."
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for SMT-S7800High DefinitionFreesat Recorderwith 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
From Sussex.
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

It was good but the most recent software update was disappointing.

Posted13 September 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted13 September 2012
"The most recent update cured a couple of bugs but there is no ITV player yet. Hopefully when Samsung get around to including it in this box they could implement Channel 4 player too."
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for SMT-S7800High DefinitionFreesat Recorderwith 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
From Houghton Regis, Beds.
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good PVR - Most of the time

Posted25 July 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted25 July 2012
"Great colour. Good features and works very well most of the time.
However, the firmware is buggy.
Library listings often vanish, necessitating a full factory default reset which requires program listings being re-inputting.
No ITV player.
Remote control often stops working. A full power cycle sometimes sorts this, other times functionality returns if you wait.
As I said, the box works well other than these problems.
Samsung need to urgently update the firmware (Current f/w is 12 months old) - If they did this, it would be close to the perfect PVR."
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
Cons: Did not meet expectations, buggy firmware
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for SMT-S7800High DefinitionFreesat Recorderwith 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
From London
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great, but some software glitches

Posted11 April 2012
Posted11 April 2012
"The intention was and is great. The software has one little itch in that I put in a reminder, but the
'programme-is-about-to-start' warning doesn't seem to attract my notice.
The remote needs attention but even that has some great features
"
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: remote
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for SMT-S7800High DefinitionFreesat Recorderwith 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
From East Sussex
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

What, still no ITV Player ?

Posted29 March 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted29 March 2012
"Would get 5 stars across the board from me, if they ever get the ITV Player enabled (as promised!!)"
Cons: Did not meet expectations, no itv player
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for SMT-S7800High DefinitionFreesat Recorderwith 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
From Dundee, Scotland
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good product, poor recording ability

Posted21 February 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted21 February 2012
"Bought this product as a Sky replacement. It was very easy to set up, attach the satallite via the same cables as sky switch on enter postcode, await software update (internet connection required) and hey presto it works. The BIG downside is that it cuts the end of recordings, out of the first 3 I tried 2 have bits missing, one of them missed the climax of the program. Samsungs FAQs state that there is no need for an extention to the recording time, WRONG! Both Sky and BT vision add (or can be set) to add on time and so manage to record the whole show should the start be early or the end late."
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for SMT-S7800High DefinitionFreesat Recorderwith 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Lip synch and other issues... shame!

Posted10 January 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted10 January 2012
"Initially I was pretty pleased with the product, however it quickly proved to show some of the faults others have mentioned, and more despite doing the software upgrade and the signal being 100%...
no sound at first when connected via HDMI socket, error message "cannot receive this programme, please check connection" appears frequently when changing channels, MASSIVE annoying problems with lip synch... dialogue is at least a second or two behind image which is virtually unwatchable. It annoyed me so much I unplugged the unit and replugged my old Sky box into the TV (which is defeating the object of buying the new box)! I searched on the internet to find out how the synchronisation problem could be fixed as it's happening on a LOT of channels and not just HD channels... but as I have the current software there's no other fix as yet? It's a real shame as Samsung are a BIG company, one of the markets leaders in electronics, so why can't these issues be fixed?
It's a real shame as this could be a cracking product, good EPG, good picture quality, fairly easy to use, decent size HDD..."
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: Did not meet expectations, software bugs
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for SMT-S7800High DefinitionFreesat Recorderwith 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
From Staffordshire
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Still needs work

Posted18 July 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted18 July 2011
"I have had this box since day one - and now most of the bugs are sorted its not too bad a box. There are still some missing features such as being able to archive your recordings to USB, being able to see mini TV when in the timer screen and being able to get to guide, timers etc. while playing back a recording. All really basic stuff, and coming from a sky box, a real dissapointment.
You still get the occassional hanging when playing back especially fast forward etc. on HD programmes, and if you're recording something at this time, that tends to get break up at that point too.
Someone has announced that lots of exciting features are due in September for smart TV - here's hoping! And of course ITV player is "coming early 2011" - well it's nealy August and it's not here yet."
Pros: nice looking, youtube, bbc iplayer
Cons: no usb copy, crashes occassionaly, missing features
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for SMT-S7800High DefinitionFreesat Recorderwith 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
From HampshireUK
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

The EPG lets it down. Or maybe I am missing the solution

Posted07 July 2011
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted07 July 2011
"I have had this now for a couple of days and am comparing it for ease of use with my 2 year old PVR (which is freeview rather that freesat) and had expected the same ease of use.
To easily navigate and record, and to see what is on for my most used channels is IMHO the most important feature that I want. The S7800 has a comprehensive EPG but it consists of many more channels that I want or need to use and there appears to be no way to reduce that list (it is possible on the TV but not the S7800 STB), so it is necessary to scan thro a huge list of unnecessary channels to see what is on and what I want to record. Not that good.
It is possible to create a favourites list but that list does not show the EPG. If the favourites did show the EPG attached it would make the whole experience so much more pleasing.
Maybe this will be rectified with a software update in future but for now I am somewhat disappointed with it.
"
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
My product recommendations
40” D6530 Series 6SMART 3D Full HDLED TV
4.1 out of 5(15)
 
 
 
BD-C5500Blu-ray Player
 
 
 
 
 
Response from SAMSUNGCustomer SupportCustomer Support08 July 2011
Thank you very much for your comment. If you could first please ensure that you have your Freesat box in Freesat mode by going into the Menu-Settings-Channel-Service Mode and selecting Freesat. By doing this you are selecting the channels specific to Freesat (Note that you may have to run the Freesat scan to find the channels if this has not been done previously-Menu-Settings-Channel-Freesat scan). Once in Freesat mode, and you are viewing a programme, press "OK" on the remote to bring up the programme list. From here you can create a favourites list by pressing the yellow button-Create new FAV. Once you select a name for your favourites list, press "OK" and up comes the Programme list for Freesat. To add a channel to your favourites list, simply scroll to the appropriate channel and press the "OK" button. Repeat with as many channels as you wish to add. When all channels have been added press "back" on the remote to finish. To view your favourites list, press "OK" when viewing a Freesat channel and scroll left-you are now able to scroll through your personalised favourites list. Please note that this feature is also available in Non Freesat mode.

if you have any further questions, please feel free to call us on 0330 SAMSUNG (7267864)

Regards
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for SMT-S7800High DefinitionFreesat Recorderwith 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
From East Sussex
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Buggy Software

Posted02 April 2011
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted02 April 2011
"Unit seems well built but is let down by software which makes it nearly unusable..
Series Links on BBC channels often record from the wrong regional BBC and when you ask for a BBC HD recording it tends to pick BBC SD Northern Ireland.
On the Channel 4 family of channels including Film 4 only one future movie recording can be set as it thinks any other movie has already been scheduled to be recorded.
HDMI Audio also has a fault and it only works if you set your A/V amp to pass audio through to your TV. Otherwise no sound.
Recording Clashes are also handled poorly as it deletes both clashes rather than it letting you pick one.
Once these issues have been fixed it should be a worthy Freesat+ box contender."
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for SMT-S7800High DefinitionFreesat Recorderwith 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
From London England.
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Samsung freesat box. SMT-S7800

Posted15 January 2014
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted15 January 2014
"I was over the moon when this freesat box was installed in the 'switch-over' from analogue signals. All went well until a few months later when the library function went absolutely crazy. It still plays up to this day.
I can only get this function to work by turning off the power at the wall socket for a few minutes.
Is there any solution to this AWFUL fault?
If this problem can be rectified then I would certainly uphold the name of Samsung.
"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
Cons: the library funtion is veryvery bad.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for SMT-S7800High DefinitionFreesat Recorderwith 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
From Leeds
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Nice product but it always has software issues, recorded programmes function fails

Posted05 February 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted05 February 2013
"If you could fix the faults it would be great, but it has lost all its library function."
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for SMT-S7800High DefinitionFreesat Recorderwith 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
From Cambridgeshire, UK
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Flawed, with broken promises

Posted21 November 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted21 November 2012
"I've had this box for a little over a year now, where it came emblazoned with a sticker saying 'ITV Player coming soon'. Still waiting, Samsung....
In normal operation, it's fine - does what it's supposed to, good picture quality, features as described (other than ITV Player that is). The UI is a little slow and clunky however.
The biggest problem is that every few months it will forget all the recordings it has made. If you look through this site, Samsung will claim that this has been addressed by firmware updates. It hasn't been. Having said that, all you need to do is reset the box and they'll be back. Your recording schedule will also be deleted, so that needs to be re-programmed. A bit of a pain, but not (yet) enough to motivate me to buy a replacement.
This is the only Samsung product I own. Based on my experience with it, I don't think I'll buy any others."
Cons: Did not meet expectations, missing features
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for SMT-S7800High DefinitionFreesat Recorderwith 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
From UK
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Nice unit but extremely poor reliability and performance.

Posted21 October 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted21 October 2012
"Unit looks nice, has nice features but repeatedly looses its library. Despite upgrades and resets this problem persists and is a crippling disapointment with unit as when it happens all your recordings are lost. I cannot recommend this unit for tis reason."
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for SMT-S7800High DefinitionFreesat Recorderwith 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Need a lot of amendment in his software.

Posted08 October 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted08 October 2012
"When stalled the Samsung SMT7800 immediatly i found missing of the software
1- I can't search the channel by name.
2- I can't move channel under my choosen sequence, there is only Renumber (Swap only#.
3- When there is new transponder not in list and i want add manually, the new transponder not save it with the exist list.
4- For example # when make Fav and choose one channel form this Fav "should be when close the device and open it again shoud be i find the same channel in Fav" but every time change you from Fav to all channels.
In the End i'm bigest fan for Samsung products, i hope from Samasung takes these few points and make software upgrade.
Thanks."
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for SMT-S7800High DefinitionFreesat Recorderwith 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
From Yorkshire
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Software is rubbish Do Not Buy this Product

Posted17 September 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted17 September 2012
"There are numerious bugs in the software and after a year there has not been any attempt by Samsung to have them corrected. Some times when you rewind and press play the unit does not play back at the correct speed and you must stop what you are watching and restart it. Every few months the recorded media disappears, they are not lost you have to do a reset end they re-appear, however, you loose any timer programs. If you watch any media for over an hour them unit goes into screen saver mode - you have to stop what you are watching and restart it again."
Pros: none
Cons: Poor quality
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for SMT-S7800High DefinitionFreesat Recorderwith 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Great Features but flaky performance and reliability

Posted06 June 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted06 June 2012
"The SMT S7800 has a great set of features and cool user interface but is let down by a few key software issues.
Recordings disappearing and needing a system reset to recover them
Very slow channel change on odd occasions
Random few seconds of broken up HD recording
"
Pros: Inexpensive, great ui
Cons: flaky software
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for SMT-S7800High DefinitionFreesat Recorderwith 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
From Galashiels Scotland
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Great features but important ones unusable.

Posted01 June 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted01 June 2012
"Wish I had kept sky + HD at least it would record then amazingly allow you to actually watch your recordings,
unlike my Samsung which I think records but does not allow you to watch the recordings
"
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for SMT-S7800High DefinitionFreesat Recorderwith 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
From Norfolk, UK
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Great features, poor performance

Posted13 May 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted13 May 2012
"Had two of these - the first locked up occasionally then started deleting everything from the library, the second is locking up even more often and has a problem with sound quality when playing back HD recordings. Will be a fantastic product if it's ever sorted out."
Cons: Did not meet expectations, locks up regularly
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for SMT-S7800High DefinitionFreesat Recorderwith 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
From Kent, England
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Buggy Software Can Get Annoying

Posted09 May 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted09 May 2012
"As mentioned in some of the other reviews, the software still appears to have some bugs, despite the firmware update.
The one we have the most trouble with is the disappearing library contents - most of the time the library appears as empty, which has become extremely annoying! We've tried the suggestions here, but they often fail to help.
Another annoyance is that you cannot set a 'lead time' on the recordings, in case a programme doesn't run exactly to it's scheduled time. I'm sure I saw somewhere that it was deemed unnecessary, however there are occasions in the past a start/end of the recorded programme has been missed!
The search functions on the guide and also rather basic, and I appear to be able to only search a single day at a time. The Freeview box we have is able to search across all days which is much more useful.
If it wasn't for these gripes, I think we'd be a lot happier with the box as it stands, and it's a shame because it has a great deal of potential."
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for SMT-S7800High DefinitionFreesat Recorderwith 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
From Bolton Uk
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Poor product

Posted19 November 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted19 November 2013
"good design, good features, good looks however poor.
Programmes there one minute gone the next
"
Pros: Durable
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for SMT-S7800High DefinitionFreesat Recorderwith 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
From Stevenage
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst electrical purchase I ever made

Posted07 October 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted07 October 2013
"I bought this product as I was fed up paying Sky. I chose this model as the spec. was excellent. Sadly the product isn't. So many problems including the controls freezing when watching recorded programs. It does not seem to be able to handle recording two new programmes while watching a third previously recorded. Also, if you start to watch a program that is still recording it gets completely lost and just carries on recording, even when the program has finished. Spec also states you can record two programmes while watching a third. This is only partly true, as trying to watch some channels gives a message "This service is not available whilst two recordings are in progress." It sometimes has a habit of going into standby mode while you are actually watching TV. All very irritating as many of these problems can only be fixed by switching it off completely which is a pain if you are trying to record something.
I never had any problems like these with my Sky box, so Samsung really need to look at how Sky boxes work and get their product to the same standard.
"
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 51 for SMT-S7800High DefinitionFreesat Recorderwith 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
From Newport UK
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Shockingly bad considering this is by Samsung

Posted24 June 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted24 June 2013
"Frequently locks up, requiring switching off to get it working again, obviously losing any recordings in progress. Frequently loses recordings and forgets programmed series record timers. Becomes increasingly unstable over time, suffering more and more lock-ups and lost recordings until its almost unusable. Then only a Factory Reset will get it working again."
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, unreliable
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 52 for SMT-S7800High DefinitionFreesat Recorderwith 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
From Wales UK
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

worst remote EVER, freezes, loses recordings, need I go on?

Posted31 March 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted31 March 2013
"Bought this to be able to record and pause the free channels, very stylish and that's about it, no point in having bucket loads of features if you can't use them, It is without doubt the worst piece of electrical equipment I have ever bought, we are going to have to stick our neck out and buy sky, PLEASE check every review and look long and hard before spending your hard earned cash on this. I would NOT recommend this item, I have lost a load of recordings I had saved on the hard drive (and protected) and recently everything we record and if you pause live TV and then play,its all pixelated and gobldigook. also it hangs when it feels like and the remote is well, remote!! summarise this product in one word? Rubbish."
Pros: looks good but looks are deceiving
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 53 for SMT-S7800High DefinitionFreesat Recorderwith 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
From Northern Ireland, UK
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Keeps rebooting

Posted03 March 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted03 March 2013
"I have owned this box for just under 13 months and I've never been completely happy with it.
After the first few months of ownership I reported the following problems:
The software on this unit is very buggy. It has had the following problems in the short time I have had it:
No picture or response after being left on over night
Displaying the wrong channel, e.g. the picture from 105 is shown when 104 is selected. (this is rectified by changing away and back again).
Reported that HDD was full and rebooted at the start of a scheduled recording even though there was 80% free space.
When changing through channels quickly, the unit stops updating the shown channel, but then jumps to the channel that corresponds to the correct number of button presses - the problem here is that if it stops responding at channel 121 it is natural to keep pressing P^ to get to channel 122. After several presses when the unit decides to respond, you end up on channel 125, for example.
Generally slow response to the remote control.
Volume control does not work on HDMI (this may not be a bug)
The unit seems to require a factory reset every so often to keep it working, but now, 27 days out of warranty it is constantly rebooting, making it almost impossible to complete the factory reset process.
Once I got through the factory reset the box continued to reboot, so I know have a rather large paperweight connected to my TV.
"
Cons: Poor quality, poor remote, slow to respond
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 54 for SMT-S7800High DefinitionFreesat Recorderwith 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Great in every respect except it does not work reliably

Posted10 December 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted10 December 2012
"If this worked reliably it would be a great product, unfortunately you wont have time to watch TV as it is all spent trying (unsuccessfully) to resolve recording and library issues....endless resets and upgrades before you give up."
Pros: great design, feature packed
Cons: Poor quality
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 55 for SMT-S7800High DefinitionFreesat Recorderwith 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
From Cardiff UK
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Library fault

Posted20 October 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted20 October 2012
"Had this 10 months, then HDD failed and I lost all my recordings. Irretrievable. Rubbish."
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 56 for SMT-S7800High DefinitionFreesat Recorderwith 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
From Kent uk
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Too many glitches

Posted25 September 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted25 September 2012
"I would definately not recommend this box I bought this to replace my sky box. I had it for 2 weeks & decided to return it as it stopped recording in the middle of programmes also when I wanted to record a series it would only record 1 episode we thought it required a software update which we done & still the same problems. Also when changing channels we got a message on the screen saying their was no signal if u turned it off then on again it worked fine. I'm just glad I've not cancelled my sky subscription."
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 57 for SMT-S7800High DefinitionFreesat Recorderwith 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Buggy software - known issues - no attempt at resolving through updates

Posted26 August 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted26 August 2012
"I'm extremely disappointed with the lack of attention Samsung has given to the KNOWN issues of losing the library list etc. for more than a year. Not one firmware update in all this time. Assume that they've given up supporting it. It is not fit for the purpose it was intended. DLNA is also laughable, and despite claims that it is certified, it is not compatible. It's slow and works sporadically. EXTREMELY slow at turning on whether on energy saving or not."
Cons: Did not meet expectations, software buggy
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 58 for SMT-S7800High DefinitionFreesat Recorderwith 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Fault after fault

Posted10 May 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted10 May 2012
"Owning for 5 months i have had 2 problems , first all my recordings had vanished from library. This was resolved by system reset.
Now all it does is reboot over and over again constantly switching it self on and off. I can access any menu`s whatsoever.
Very disapointed with this and should have just bought a SKY box.
"
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 59 for SMT-S7800High DefinitionFreesat Recorderwith 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Good picture quality however only a few HD channels and no ITV player

Posted04 May 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted04 May 2012
"The EPG is good and easy to use, my main issue is that recorded programmes disappear for no reason but after switching between contents and timer in the library some of the recorded channels may reappear.
Some great features - however the usb reader is very choosy about which video files it will play. Also takes an age to boot up.
otherwise a great bit of kit
"
Pros: cheaper than sky
Cons: Did not meet expectations, software too buggy
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 60 for SMT-S7800High DefinitionFreesat Recorderwith 500Gb HDD
Customer Avatar
From UK
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

How disappointing

Posted28 October 2011
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted28 October 2011
"Despite being billed as having iplayer access etc (and being confirmed by shop ) it does not....it is 'coming soon'...well I'm still waiting. Also slow to respond and despite having two tuners it seems 'unable to receive programs' an awful lot of the time. Recording is hit and miss...I have reverted to using terrestial PVR to record as I am rather unamused by half-recorded films or only 1 or 2 of a series etc..."
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from SAMSUNGCustomer Support01 November 2011
The Samsung SMT-S7800 Freesat + HD PVR does have BBC iPlayer and has had this feature for several months-please visit channel 901, ensuring you have an active internet connection. You may be referring to the ITV player as "coming soon" which is correct (Channel 903).

Please run the software update procedure in the settings menu as this will resolve any recording errors that you are having- MENU-SETTINGS-SYSTEM-SOFTWARE UPGRADE. Once this is installed (or if you have the current version 5.0.300), reset the unit to factory settings to enable the update- MENU-SETTINGS-SYSTEM-RESET TO DEFAULTS.

When setting the system up again, please also ensure that you choose 2 LNB setup and not single LNB.

Best regards,
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for SMT-S7800High DefinitionFreesat Recorderwith 500Gb HDD
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.