Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Galaxy Gear (Jet Black)

Galaxy Gear (Jet Black)

Enjoy more freedom in your mobile life with the Samsung Galaxy Gear. This stylish wearable device connects seamlessly with your Samsung smartphone and allows you to do more on the go. You can use the Galaxy Gear’s touchscreen and sophisticated voice recognition to control your phone, answer calls and read messages as soon as they arrive. You don’t even have to touch your mobile device or take it out of your pocket or bag. The Memographer also lets you capture photos, video and audio at a moment’s notice.
Rating:
4.341 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(88 Reviews) 88
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 88 reviews
5 stars
51
4 stars
27
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
5
72 out of 82(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
137 Questions | 125 Answers
Customer Reviews for Galaxy Gear (Jet Black)
Review 1 for Galaxy Gear (Jet Black)
Customer Avatar
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Battery died

Posted06 October 2014
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted06 October 2014
"Had to down load upgrade to Note 3 and now my battery doesnt hold a charge for my 10 month old Gear Watch!!!"
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Galaxy Gear (Jet Black)
Customer Avatar
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The watch is very cool and has some useful features but could use more features.

Posted25 September 2014
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted25 September 2014
"The watch is very cool and has some great features but could use more. It would be nice if i could do more things that I do on my phone on the watch. The battery life is very nice and is very user friendly."
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Galaxy Gear (Jet Black)
Customer Avatar
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The watch is very cool and has some useful features but could use more features.

Posted25 September 2014
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted25 September 2014
"The watch is very cool and has some great features but could use more. It would be nice if i could do more things that I do on my phone on the watch. The battery life is very nice and is very user friendly."
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Galaxy Gear (Jet Black)
Customer Avatar
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

love this product!

Posted29 July 2014
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted29 July 2014
"It is great having this device especially in my line of work in health care. Also, I dont see it in the specs anywhere but I forgot I had it on and went swimming in the ocean, after about 10 minutes I realized it and got out thinking it was gonna be ruined but it is still working just fine!"
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Galaxy Gear (Jet Black)
Customer Avatar
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

works great

Posted05 May 2014
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted05 May 2014
"one liners first. Looks fantastic. Works great. Good price. Good weight. Enough apps.good camera. I love the app that lets me make up my own watch faces with my own pictures."
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Galaxy Gear (Jet Black)
This review is from Galaxy Gear (Wild Orange).
Customer Avatar
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

its excellent

Posted27 March 2014
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted27 March 2014
"mobile feature is amazing. this device made life easy for me because i have to go for a jog every morning and sometimes its inconveniencing to have to pick up your call but with this u just lift up your hand and you can answer the call. Its life made easier"
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Galaxy Gear (Jet Black)
Customer Avatar
From Maryland
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

More Than What I Thought

Posted17 January 2014
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted17 January 2014
"I thought hard about buying this, then finally did and was highly impressed with the product, quality and functionality..Yeah the cost is a tad bit steep but I like watches and have spent much more for a watch so it did not break me at all....I know this is the first Gear on the market but to me it is a great entrance....Look forward to updates to improve on the sharp watch...."
Cons: on point, cool
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Galaxy Gear (Jet Black)
Customer Avatar
From Daventry, UK
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Posted03 January 2014
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted03 January 2014
"One of the not many toys that really should put a little more money, without the problematic service and expansion of the smartphone. I recommend to all."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Galaxy Gear (Jet Black)
Customer Avatar
From Weymouth, UK
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent companion to my Galaxy S4

Posted30 December 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted30 December 2013
"My only gripe about the Galaxy Gear is the relatively high price - I don't think I would have had the confidence to spend the full RRP on something new and unproven, but an internet bargain reduced the price enough to overcome my fears.
The Galaxy Gear is awesome. Screen is clear and bright, battery life is good enough to last all day (it still has lots of charge left when I plug it in a night alongside my S4), and the call quality is very good when using the watch to make and receive calls. The only slight issue is that people can eavesdrop on both sides of the conversation as the watch uses a speaker phone - although I suppose this could be overcome by turning down the volume and holding the speaker to an ear when not talking.
Inbuilt apps are OK, and I am sure when the developers get their teeth into the gear there are going to be some fantastic apps for the watch.
Camera is surprisingly good for the size of the watch, and just begs for some QR code reading apps to be written.
I have no doubt that wearable tech like this is the future, and I very seldom need to pat myself down to find which pocket a ringing phone is in as I can do most of my communicating via the Gear."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Galaxy Gear (Jet Black)
Customer Avatar
From Northampton, UK
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I used to use my phone as my watch.... but now....

Posted30 December 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted30 December 2013
"I thought long and hard about buying one of these, as I've not been a watch wearer for may years (my watch was replaced by the mobile phone) and the price is quite high for what I was looking to buy it for (I only anticipated using it for its ability to alert / notify me).
But now the tide is turning.... Not only is it a cool piece of tech that looks like a fashion item, but its ability to provide call functionality means that I now use a watch as a phone, and not a phone as a watch.
I was also very presently surprised by the camera capability, and have found that I'm also using many of the other features too.
I've been very pleased by the battery life with a single charge giving me 2 days usage (3 days if I don't use it for the occasional call ).
My brother-in-law said "Why would you want a watch that does that?" followed by "I want to get one of them"...
Features I would love to see improved / added.
Ability to add a contact through the gear, and ability to clear down missed call notifications (hopefully these will be added / fixed in a future software update)
Other than that this is great..."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: expensive, limited apps
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Galaxy Gear (Jet Black)
Customer Avatar
From Turkey
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Don't think Just Buy...

Posted28 November 2013
Posted28 November 2013
"Well after having my Galaxy Gear I want to share a comment about it here
Having a smartwatch called Liveview before, I can say it's faaaar more better than that.
One of the thing i didn't like, is the screen, so easy to scratch on it, even i was so careful it got scratched, so you should use a screen protector.
Battery life is perfect, it can last 2 days, it became a perfect mate with my Galaxy Note II
All functions are working.
And the Camera have a good performance although it's 1.9 MP
Charging Dock has NFC and looks lovely
For who's thinking to buy this beauty, I can say... Don't think, Just Buy"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: easy scratchable
 
My product recommendations
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Galaxy Gear (Jet Black)
Customer Avatar
From UK
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

From an Apple convert

Posted02 November 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted02 November 2013
"I am coming from an Apple background and no longer want to be tied into 1 product. So i purchased the Galaxy Note 3 and subsequently the Galaxy Gear.
The watch itself oozes quality in its look and feel. Its not too heavy on the wrist and is just about the right size for me. But on my wife it look a little bulky. Setup was easy and I had the Note 3 and the Gear connected within minutes. The watch is very easy to use. Not too technical. I was sceptical after reading the bad reviews but I like to make up my own mind. The only thing I do not like at all it the charging cradle and the charger. Too big and bulky to cary round when you are away from home for a few days. I have managed to use the watch for 2 days without a recharge and its down to 18% battery. The hands free is great. As the Note is large i keep it in my brief case and can answer calls without getting my phone out. I do not get notified of my emails only messages. Maybee I have missed a setting.But if this is the case it is a major flaw."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Lightweight, notifications
Cons: no email notification, charging cradle
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Galaxy Gear (Jet Black)
Customer Avatar
From Bristol, UK
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A little 1.0 at the moment

Posted03 October 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted03 October 2013
"The Galaxy Gear is really good fun to use and is an exciting foray into wearable technology. However, there is a need for more to Apps to be developed for it. There was supposed to be 70 at launch but there doesn't seem to be that many via the Gear App manager, which is a shame. Generally the watch does what it is supposed to and the accelerometer works well for turning the watch face on. This allows access to the menus and Apps which can be used with the Galaxy Note 3 (which is brilliant, by the way) as well as being able to make phone and receive phone calls. A couple of times texts have not sent via the Gear using the Samsung voice app which was annoying. This occurred while returning text messages, rather than when they were initiated by me. I hope this is just a glitch.
The camera function works well and takes reasonable snapshots, although not great in low light. Voice quality and speaker is remarkably good though.
Overall the Galaxy Gear has great potential but is not quite the finished product in terms of killer apps."
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Galaxy Gear (Jet Black)
Based on the average of (75) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
61 out of 70 recommend this product
Features 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Performance 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Design 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.