Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for SEK-1000 Evolution Kit

SEK-1000 Evolution Kit

Now you don’t have to buy a new TV to enjoy the latest functionality and performance. Add an Evolution Kit* to bring your Samsung Smart TV up to date. With Smart Hub 2013, you can use newer apps and games, as well as a better layout and more capabilities. You can also enjoy more intuitive interaction, with voice control, gesture commands and two-handed motion control. Thanks to the Quad Core processor, the Evolution Kit even makes your Smart TV experience smoother and faster, with enhanced multi-tasking.
Rating:
3.579 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
6
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
2
11 out of 17(65%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for SEK-1000 Evolution Kit
Review 1 for SEK-1000 Evolution Kit
Customer Avatar
From Flintshire, north Wales
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great upgrade to make the TV do what it promised originally

Posted02 September 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted02 September 2013
" Real mixed feelings about this. It's a great upgrade that you should buy immediately so lets get that out of the way. My only issue is that I would argue it makes the TV work properly now where it didn't originally, motion control has gone from being an unusable gimmick to being very good indeed. In fairness to Samsung, I would have had to by a new TV in the past to get this level of improvement and now for about £200 I have more or less got a new TV. The mere fact you can upgrade like this is brilliant, lets see more it it. Everything works smoother, faster and more intuitively, power control for my Samsung soundshare soundbar now works properly as well - another thing that should have worked in the first place, but hey. "
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
55" ES7000 Series 7 SMART 3D Full HDLED TV
 
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SEK-1000 Evolution Kit
Customer Avatar
From Swansea
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

What I bought the tv for

Posted30 May 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted30 May 2013
" Think my summery said it all really wanted to upgrade tv without buying new one every year new remote is much better than old one only down side it does take a long time to boot up with firmware when first connected "
Pros: what i expected
Cons: expensive
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SEK-1000 Evolution Kit
Customer Avatar
From Leeds, UK
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

2012 TV with 2013 features

Posted22 May 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted22 May 2013
" Aside from a painful installation process (the device seems to not fit very well, or be very secure), including a few false starts where the screen had nothing but fuzzy green lines on it, the new 2013 system is really rather slick compared to the older menus.
The display is very funky, and easy to use. It syncs up very nicely to the Sky+ box, and even changes channels from its own menu system showing what's on and coming up.
I've not tested the signals or talk to your TV features yet, but certainly will as it now supports multi gestures (apparently). I'm a little concerned that I'm going to have to pay nearly £250 every release cycle to keep up to date with the software on the TV (which is more or less what this allows you to do), and can see this appealing only to tech-snobs much like myself. I don't think it's useful to the average consumer.
Overall impressed. Feels like a new TV, everything is much snappier. "
Pros: saves buying a new tv
Cons: Poor quality
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SEK-1000 Evolution Kit
Customer Avatar
From Cork, Ireland
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Improves TV, but has issues

Posted18 September 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted18 September 2013
" I installed the Evolution kit to bring my 65" up to date. I paid a lot for it and wanted to keep it on the edge. Advantages:
1. New smarthub has more room for apps (in fact now I notice there is a real shortage of apps)
2. Some apps perform better, the processing is clearly quicker
3. No change in HD picture quality. However a poor SD feed is definitely improved with heavy duty noise elimination
4. The voice and motion activation definitely work better now even though not to a level that I would regularly use them.
Disadvantages:
1. The connection to your Ethernet cable is flimsy and am afraid that cleaning behind the TV may damage it if not careful.
2. The remote that was provided with the kit simply doesn't work. It can only switch on and off the TV. I had to improvise to get the old remote working by trying to pair it a number of times with the TV until, it worked.
Note:
In my case it took up to 2 days for the kit to work properly. Initially apps did not download or run. However every time I switched on the TV a few worked again until after some time it all worked and has worked correctly ever since.
Coinclusion: Average product that works (except remote) . If you are Happy with your apps to date on your 2012 TV I would advise that you wait until next year and see if the new evolution kit offers better value. If your apps are slow this upgrade is definitely recommended "
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SEK-1000 Evolution Kit
Customer Avatar
From London, UK
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Ok, but could have been so much better.

Posted31 July 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted31 July 2013
" Unit worked straight out of the box until it wanted to check the internet for updates. This was when I found out the TV's built in WiFi I use to connect with had stopped working. I could not get it to detect ANY SSIDs at all. Upon review it looks like it needs a firmware update to work (TV version 1003. Current version should be 1004.4). Have since downloaded the current version on a USB stick using a PC and will be trying the upgraded firmware later.
Other issues...
Voice control...
As I have currently have not got an internet connection the TV will not permit the use of voice control.
Motion control...
As I turn off the TV's speaker because I use an external amp for sound. Motion control gets itself in a pickle notifing me that the audio is off and as soon as I "Ok" the warning it pings straight back up in a never-ending loop preventing any further progress.
Smart Hub...
Currently un-tested as... I've got no internet connection and therefore cannot use it!
Screen brightness...
TV's brightness seems to randomly fluctuate depending on if a remote control button or an attempt at voice/motion control has taken place. Though it seems to be the TV trying to acknowledge that you have given it a command it can be really infuriating even after a short period of time. This is especially true when trying to set the picture's contrast or brightness controls. It may possibly be preventable if there's a setting available. I'm still finding my way round the new menu system so am uncertain.
Various Menu options...
After installing the Evo kit, some but not all options revert back to their 'default' settings this includes some of the picture setiings, the audio settings and even the Anynet+ turning itself back on. Some like the back-light level do remain from its pre-evo kit level. So you have to review all settings just to confirm they are still correct.
Hopefully a lot of these niggles will fix themselves after the installation of the previously mentioned update. "
Pros: cheep way to 'upgrade' a recent tv
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SEK-1000 Evolution Kit
Customer Avatar
From Lndon
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

I wish they had waited for more stable firmware

Posted28 May 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted28 May 2013
" I love the fetures it's added and the front end is brilliant. However, the firmware is unstable, particularly when you ask it to do a search for a film, then it just hangs and then reboots the TV.
I can't but think that first users are being used as beta testers, which for me takes the shine off the product. "
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
18of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SEK-1000 Evolution Kit
Customer Avatar
From Cheshire, England
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

This Product has some features that are no better than what its intended to upgrade

Posted26 May 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted26 May 2013
" Yet another Remote that serves no purpose? Why could there have not been a firmware upgrade for the existing remotes supplied with the flagship es8000 series? "
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
My product recommendations
 
+17points
19of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SEK-1000 Evolution Kit
Customer Avatar
From Thornbury, Glos
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Quite an expensive bolt on

Posted28 August 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted28 August 2013
" Check this kit and its features out very carefully before you spend your money on it - I didn't and I now regret it! "
Cons: Did not meet expectations, expensive
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for SEK-1000 Evolution Kit
Customer Avatar
From Ankara,Türkiye
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

It should have been compatible with the 6000 series too.

Posted10 July 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted10 July 2013
" It's fantastic idea! But... It should have been compatible with the 6000 series too. Because, series 7-8-9 already have the all features coming with the device. Except series 6. "
Cons: Did not meet expectations, not compatible with 6 series
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for SEK-1000 Evolution Kit
Customer Avatar
From Surrey
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

I was really looking forward to this upgrade but was sadly disappointed when it didnt perform. Wasted most of Fathers Day trying to make it work.

Posted23 June 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted23 June 2013
" I persevered with this for a week and eventually took it back to Currys and got my money back. It is not plug and play, I spent about 10 hours and about five attempts connecting, disconnecting and reconnecting the evolution kit to my ES8000. I was really looking forward to this upgrade but was sadly disappointed when it didnt perform. The main issues are 1) the new remote, which is essential, only stays paired for about 2 minutes and then drops out saying "not available", 2) the cover on the remote which conceals the pairing button is immensely difficult to remove, 3) the WIFI which worked perfectly well before the unit was connected does not connect once the evolution kit boots up causing me to have to use the LAN (this is not how my system is configured), 4) The voice control functions were not always working, often reporting that the "function is not available", 5) the motion control funtions were not always working, often reporting that the "function is not available", 6) it would not allow me run the voice control environment test and tutorial saying "function not available", 7) it would not allow me to run the motion control environment test and tutorial saying "function not available" 8) the TV would hang/freeze from time to time and lastly, 9) the TV would shut down unexpectedly with out warning.
I did however get the opportunity to experience the new operating system which is fantastic and works well with the new remote for a couple of minutes before it drops out. I then had to use the old trusty but clunky remote. The new internet browser works faster and better particularly with the my Samsung keyboard.
I think I will wait another six months and see if Samsung can sort this lot out. No point in spending that amount of money on something that only half works. "
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+26points
26of 26voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for SEK-1000 Evolution Kit
Based on the average of (9) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
6 out of 7 recommend this product
Features 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Performance 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Design 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
3.3 out of 5
3.3 out of 5
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.