Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for 43" E490 Series 4 Plasma TV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

43" E490 Series 4 Plasma TV

You can choose great value and outstanding viewing at the same time. The affordable Samsung E490 Series 4 Plasma TV delivers an amazing Full 3D experience in your living room. You don’t have to worry about reflected light spoiling your entertainment, either – the Real Black minimises glare and ensures that dark shades are enhanced. Clear Image panel structure also eliminates image layering and blurring, giving you a clearer picture from almost every angle. You’ll also enjoy smoother moving images, thanks to sophisticated subfield motion technology. You’ll love both the performance and the price.
Rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
9 out of 12(75%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for 43" E490 Series 4 Plasma TV
Review 1 for 43" E490 Series 4 Plasma TV
Customer Avatar
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent pictures for a budget price

Posted19 March 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted19 March 2013
" If you want a 3d plasma tv that isn't too expensive then this fits the bill an excellent set easy to set up and even easier to use I would recommend to anyone. "
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color, 3d
Cons: needs 1 extra hdmi socket
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 43" E490 Series 4 Plasma TV
Customer Avatar
From CHENNAI-India
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

***THE AMAZING TV FOR UR BUDGET***

Posted10 October 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted10 October 2012
" This is a budget tv. if u worry about full hd, then go for higher model, But it is HD Ready, some what full hd supports. It has good power consumption. Speakers are not bad. great experience in 3D for both gaming and movie. 600MHZ smokes out LED's 240mhz. Plasma is 3 times smoother than led. there is a range to view the tv according to the room size. if u keep it in the correct position and height, then its awsome:) thank u guys.
dont belive the nonsense review... I recommend u to buy this TV.
"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 43" E490 Series 4 Plasma TV
Customer Avatar
From flintshire
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

unbeatable for the price,, full hi-def in 3d....

Posted09 July 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted09 July 2012
" cool tv,, does not heat up, picture is better than many more expensive plasmas.
3d viewing is breathtaking
conected is ps-3---sky hi-def box.........
playing around with the setting,many options,can't seem to find the perfect settings,as it looks and sounds good whatever the setting .......
"
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 43" E490 Series 4 Plasma TV
Customer Avatar
From Mumbai
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This is a fantastic tv at the price .it looks smashing. reduced power consumption.no burnt images on screen.

Posted19 September 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted19 September 2012
" I have purchased the tv a few months back.it is absolutely great looking.The power consumption is minimal and comparative to led tvs.It has many features and 3d is a great novelty and bragging feature.
best value for the price with great technology.It is not HD but at this price you can only expect so much.thanks
"
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color, less power intake, good design
Cons: Not high def, poor speakers
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 43" E490 Series 4 Plasma TV
Customer Avatar
From Philippines
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Plasma 3DTV, bang for the buck

Posted31 August 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted31 August 2012
" had this baby for almost 3 months & all i can say is WOW.
one of the best 3DTV i've seen, 2D-3D not very good though
want a big screen TV with less cost? get this model, major downside is that it is not a smart TV but who cares just hook up your laptop or PC & you're good to go. "
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
Galaxy Tab (3G)
4.4 out of 5(13)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 43" E490 Series 4 Plasma TV
Customer Avatar
From Sheffield
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good Price, not great quality

Posted23 August 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted23 August 2012
" This tv is very good looking tv with lots of picture tweeks, very few sound tweeks tho.
the sound quality from the tv speakers is poor and the first TV i had the sound fail after 2 hours, giving a bassless muffled effect.
The picture quality is good, shame its max HD is 720p and a little grainy. But it has plenty of settings to play with
Pros
Nice to look at
Good amount of settings for picture
Cons
Sound issue
"
Pros: Lightweight, good design
Cons: Poor quality, very poor sound
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 43" E490 Series 4 Plasma TV
Customer Avatar
From Bradford
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Poor sound,2d to 3d not working

Posted30 October 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted30 October 2012
" can't hear anything from the speakers especial when you connect with laptop or other device,2d to 3D not working,after all it is not HD so you will still see SD picture I dont know if you connect with SKY HD if there is any change.
Allshare plays not supported only all share so you can not stream direct from the sofa you need to connect hdmi.
AGGHHH!!!
"
Pros: Durable
Cons: Poor quality, Not high def, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
My product recommendations
 
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 43" E490 Series 4 Plasma TV
Customer Avatar
From Bradford
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

2D to 3D not function just decoration

Posted30 October 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted30 October 2012
" I got this tv when I saw you can convert Movie 2D to 3d without having to buy 3D player,But that has never happened to me,it is just a waste of time I tried with HDMI from PC and TV Channels from Sky,but I have not tried with dvd.
Allshare play is not supported which means if you have netflix account or Lovefilm you can not watch on TV from your sofa but you will need to watch by connecting HDMI.
I m not sure if the 3D on dvd players or 3d channes are as good as the others because I have nt got any Bluerays or dvd player.
"
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
My product recommendations
 
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for 43" E490 Series 4 Plasma TV
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
4 out of 4 recommend this product
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.