Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NP-RF711High Performance Notebook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

NP-RF711High Performance Notebook

Behind the Samsung RF711 notebook‘s stylish yet minimalist looks lies a whole new world of rapid interactivity and stunning multimedia. The combination of its 17.3’’ HD LED Backlit display, featuring 280bit brightness and 16 million colours, and a powerful nVIDIA graphics card provides amazing image clarity and colour intensity for an exceptional video and gaming experience. You can enjoy the RF711 anytime, anywhere, because it wakes from sleep mode within seconds of opening the display or pressing the power button. Furthermore, with a huge data storage capacity, the one thing you never have to be without is your music, movies and pictures – just grab it and go!
Rating:
4.235 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
8 out of 11(73%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for NP-RF711High Performance Notebook
Review 1 for NP-RF711High Performance Notebook
Customer Avatar
From BARNSLEY SOUTH YORKSHIRE
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a feature filled machine i am delighted with my purchase

Posted19 October 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted19 October 2012
"i am highly delighted with my RF711 purchase
for me it ticks every box i would have liked plus
the samsung software is brilliant
"
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NP-RF711High Performance Notebook
Customer Avatar
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Posted26 August 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted26 August 2012
"For someone who likes to do a lot at the same time then this notebook is for you! So much can be done on it and the wide screen is perfect for browsing. The performance is excellent. The design is wonderful. The value is great. Most people say the audio performance is rubbish though that is not true. My audio is perfect! Can't fault it."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, great value, great audio, fast, can do a lot at the same time
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NP-RF711High Performance Notebook
Customer Avatar
From London UK
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great machine but not for a Linux user.

Posted06 June 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted06 June 2012
"Whenever I buy a new computer the first thing I load on it is the Belarc Advisor which searches inside the box and prints out everything it can find. All the hardware and all the software. The first thing I notice is that there are two 4Gig memorychips and not one 4Gig and one 2Gig. A big plus for Samsung here.
The low score for value for money I gave is very personal. If you are a windows user, give it five stars, but for a Linux user, I have been generous with three stars.
First of all, there are no Linux drivers for the Nvidia Optimus drivers but hopefully there will be one reversed engineered within a year. The top row of keys by the on/off switch don't work, neighter do the top row of function keys, but strangely enough, the bottom row of four function keys do.
Also I have had to releoad the operation dydtems a few times. I am using Ubuntu 12.04.
The keyboard is positive, although I have purchased an external as I may have to sell this if I can't get it working properly, and don't want to damage the keys. I just love the bright clear screen and, as I use Skype, the camera at the top of the screen is nice and sharp. Finally, there is a separate keyboard for numbers on the right, as in any PC keyboard.
I advice is, if you use Windows, go for it, a good box to use in lieu of a desktop, which was my intention.
If you use Linux, avoid it like the plague.
Note: I am not sure how many people use Linux as there are so many distributions but I do know that as at version 12.04 - Ubuntu alone have 20,000,000 users, the largest being the Spanish education authority with 500,000 desktops. As all those kids leave school and companies see they have the expertise, Notebooks with no drivers for Linux will start losing Spain as a customer point."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NP-RF711High Performance Notebook
Customer Avatar
From London, UK
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An excellent desktop replacement

Posted17 February 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted17 February 2012
"I brought the i7 version of this machine through Amazon after spotting an error in pricing meaning I got an i7 machine for the price of an i5! What a bargain this turned out to be.
This machine is very fast. The GT540M graphics is also fast and can play all the games i've thrown at it, including, Dirt 2, Crysis 2, MW3, BF3 and with good frame rates and detail.
Build quality is very good although a bit too plasticky for my liking, and the machine is fairly quiet. Even with fans on, its not that noticeable.
For those complaining about the speakers, guys you are not going to find good speakers on any laptop. I currently hook up a JBL set of speakers to this and sounds fantastic, with thumping bass and good detail. The standard speakers are not great i'll admit, but if your buying this as your main machine you should really have some external speakers anyway.
The screen is extremely bright, and makes the external monitor I have hooked up to this look dull in comparison. Its not quite full HD but it does the job fine.
The fast start by Samsung is a fantastic feature. It really does wake up in about 2/3 seconds and eliminates the need to reboot your machine everyday.
Overall, Im really happy I brought this machine, for a while I was regretting my choice only because the series 7 chronos arrived but aside from the appearance, they are very similar in performance. The battery does last alot longer in the series 7 though. For the price I got this for, its been an amazing machine and I have no doubt it will last me at least 2/3 years."
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, performance
Cons: speakers, battery life
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NP-RF711High Performance Notebook
Customer Avatar
From Coventry, UK
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Cost-effective product

Posted05 February 2012
Posted05 February 2012
"Except the audio performance, I feel satisfied with the notebook."
Pros: Bright display
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NP-RF711High Performance Notebook
Customer Avatar
From UK
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Posted20 September 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted20 September 2011
"Bought this notebook about 2 weeks ago and I really loved it.... It has everything I want and it's worth to invest in this notebook :-D"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NP-RF711High Performance Notebook
Customer Avatar
From Manchester
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent laptop, ideal for game playing, excellent screen

Posted05 April 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted05 April 2011
"I play alot of games on my laptop, the sound and screen are exceptional. The nVidia GPU really performs well, great value for money!"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NP-RF711High Performance Notebook
Customer Avatar
From Shetland
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

I7 but let down but poor sound and poor graphics capability

Posted24 December 2011
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted24 December 2011
"On paper a very nice laptop,
Summery
17" display
I7 CPU
8GBRAM
Blu-Ray
and the main one
NVidia GT540M
(List goes on)
Looking all very nice yes. After getting one and using for a week I can now say it was a bit expensive for some of these problems I came across.
Firstly after setting up the laptop you hear the windows start up noise, we all know it an if you have to hear it a lot you can instantly tell if the speakers are poor, this was true when I played my music threw them also the maximum volume was very quiet compered to my beloved R780, there also seems to be some form of echo on both speakers and headphones but the realtek effects are all switched off, but after setting the default format to its highest this did help a little but not by much. If you are a music lover who loves to listen without headphones you will need to buy some external speakers as these sound like some kind or really cheap radio speakers.
The CPU is very nice an I7 2670QM running mainly at 2.2GHZ there is a turbo mode and this is controlled by Intel software to improve battery life. The 4 cores are split into 2, making the task manager look like I am on one of the bulky servers from work.
Second flaw was the way the NVidia graphics card is processed. by design, the laptops very nice, bright and clear display is ruined by having it powered by the on-board Intel graphics card, and by having some software magic, games are processed by the NVidia and sent to the Intel card at the end, giving the picture a delay, slightly pixeld and when complex graphics are used can be a bit jerky. It seems only the VGA out is connected to the NVidia card directly. If I want a graphics card I want everything from the laptops screen, VGA and my HDMI to be driven by the one card “the NVidia”, like my R780. If we have to have the Intel for power saving, rout it through the NVidia not NVidia to Intel.
Loved the capability for 2 hard disks, does have an effect on the rather small battery for such a big laptop, but with an SSD hard disk performance is defiantly increased and using the hard disk that came with the laptop as a good place to store big data files.
Over all, the thing that saves this laptop is the I7 Processor, the 8GB of ram, and the 2 hard disks. The feature it could also have done to make it a little better could have definitely been an expansion port as I could use my old but still good HD camera or a firewire port at least. But the definite fail on this laptop was the speakers, Acer also had a laptop (Acer Aspire 5750G) with this same problem but they added some Dolby software to counter this with a pretty good result compared to what it was, Samsung could learn from this."
Pros: Bright display, very nice i7 processor, very fast, capability for 2 hard disks, very nice screen resolution, 8gb ram
Cons: Did not meet expectations, laptop screen goes via onboard graphics card, very poor speakers, very poor volume, very expensive to have these flaws
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+13points
15of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NP-RF711High Performance Notebook
Customer Avatar
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

This product ages fast.

Posted28 January 2014
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted28 January 2014
"My experiences with this product: It breaks down exactly when you expect it to do -> few months after the warantee expires."
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for NP-RF711High Performance Notebook
Based on the average of (8) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
2 out of 3 recommend this product
Features 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Performance 
3.3 out of 5
3.3 out of 5
Design 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.