Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Wave

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Wave

The Samsung Wave is the world’s first SUPER AMOLED mobile phone and will have you seeing images in a whole new light. With super fast navigation and internet browsing, the Wave is truly light years ahead of other mobile phones.
Rating:
4.025 / 5
4
 / 
5
(81 Reviews) 81
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 81 reviews
5 stars
48
4 stars
11
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 star
9
48 out of 66(73%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Wave
Review 1 for Wave
Customer Avatar
Am gall
From Brighton,England
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

So many great features, lovely ,clear screen

Posted23 September 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted23 September 2012
"I have been using this phone for about 18 months and still feel like I have a new phone. Keep updating it when prompted for all the latest gizmos. A really good buy."
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Wave
Customer Avatar
MSayanvala
From Johannesburg
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My Best Buy

Posted29 May 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted29 May 2012
"I've been using this phone for about 18 months now. I've never been able to keep a phone and still feel up to date for so long before.
At an affordable price, I bought a phone with excellent hardware, design and a brilliant OS that delivers features comparable to more established alternatives. That was with bada 1.0, but now with the update to bada 2.0 and a much larger app selection, bada certainly feels ahead of the game. With my Wave I smartphone, I have the latest apps like Opera browser, Foursquare, Facebook, Twitter, Samsung's hubs (Social, Music). My Wave I also has voice control (using Vlingo) and a personal assistant app (VIKI). I have access to a full office suite (Polaris) and my emails are delivered with push sync. In terms of messaging, ChatOn offers me competitive messaging that is compatible with most of the phones my friends use. The Wave I doesn't fall short in gaming either. I have common games like Angry Birds and more high end games like Asphalt 6 HD. This smartphone has proven to be my best buy. And I'm really proud of Samsung because all this performance is delivered through their own bada operating system. Well done Samsung!
"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight, great apps, always up to date
Cons: too little marketing, little hype
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Wave
Customer Avatar
Bootes
From UK
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Phone

Posted28 February 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted28 February 2012
"This really is a great phone, great display,great sound,easy to use and feels great in the hand.
Just one problem, how about a firmware update to bada 2. There are some really good apps out there but they cannot be used because of the lack of firmware support. Sorry I cannot recommend to a friend because of lack of support.
"
Pros: Bright display, Durable
Cons: lack of firmware update
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Wave
Customer Avatar
cheesy
From motherwell
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

an exceptional phone

Posted24 January 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted24 January 2012
"high quality amoled screen is always very clear to see
great clarity of sound
great value for your money
"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Wave
Customer Avatar
Krish
From Calicut, India
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Simply Superb...!!!

Posted02 December 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted02 December 2011
"I own this phone. It's a great phone with a screen that gives unmatched clarity and feel. Sound is the best in class. It's beautifully designed and feature-rich. I don't have words to explain how good it is...
Thanks a lot to Samsung...
"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, long battery life
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Wave
Customer Avatar
kafka
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Posted15 November 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted15 November 2011
"Very efficient and elegant mobile phone with the operating system is relatively good"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Wave
Customer Avatar
scottdl
From Birmingham, UK
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung have created a winner with the S8500 Wave

Posted11 May 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted11 May 2011
"I have recently purchased the Samsung S8500 Wave after using Sony Ericssons for years. My last phone was a C905 and bought it mainly for the camera, audio quality and remote device management feature. After managing the technical side of mobile phones in a previous job I always take my time in selecting a new phone. I had considered the iPhone but the fact the bluetooth never seems to work well to other makes of phone or laptops and does have a habbit of freezing I was reluctant to buy one. After weeks of research and comparisons (nerd alert!) I decided to buy the Samsung Wave S8500 and I am so please my decision. I have had it for just over a month now and recommend this to anyone. Moving from an 8MP camera with Carl Zeiss lens (Sony C905) to a 5Mp was a little annoying but other 8MP phones had less of the technical specs I look for so this was a comprimise, until I tried the camera out... this phone has proven that more megapixels dont necassarily mean better quality. The camera is fantastic and HD video recording is great. Audio wise again I have been impressed and the 5.1 surround is awsome when linked up to speakers. The range of apps has proved impressive from functional apps (Remote device management) to games (Need for Speed shift HD). It seems more responsive than a Samsung Galaxy, Sony Xperia or an iPhone 4 (tested against friends phones). The phone is a great design, easy to use, has a wide range of useful functions and overall I would give it 9 out of 10 and I only give it a 9 as at present there are generic apps for all other operating systems that are just not available on Bada... yet!"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight, hd, camera quality
Cons: apps for popular os's (android) needed for bada
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Wave
Customer Avatar
Dee24
From Bournemouth
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Posted07 April 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted07 April 2011
"i love it!!! i fell in love with this phone about 10 months ago, as a friend had one, and couldn't wait for my contract to end so i could get this phone it doesn't leave my side (how sad is that) great for video and photos.
no complaints apart from would like more free apps. and its taken a long time to sort out samsung kies!
"
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Wave
Customer Avatar
ellah
From Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
I have used this product for:1-3 months
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very elegant, smart and easy to use mobile phone!

Posted08 February 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted08 February 2011
"I've bought this mobile phone one month ago and I am very satisfied with it! It is very user friendly, fast, photos and videos are excellent, sound is wonderful... I really do not have any complains and I am very happy I decided to buy it!"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Wave
Customer Avatar
Sam.A
From Pontypridd
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fun, reliable phone!

Posted14 December 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted14 December 2011
"The Samsung Wave is an extremely fun phone with bright display. I've had this phone for almost a year and I can still amaze friends and family with it's features. However, the Bada OS is disappointing as the applications are limited but it still has some good games such as Fruit Ninja and Assassin's Creed. Definitely buy!"
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable
Cons: bada os
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Wave
Customer Avatar
richardunk
From Bracknell
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good all round features

Posted23 October 2011
Posted23 October 2011
"Enjoy this phone alot but annoying that you cant get adobe flash player, even thou you are pointed in the adobe direction."
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight
Cons: no flash player
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Wave
Customer Avatar
Fergie
From London
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Rubbish

Posted15 May 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted15 May 2012
"Internet can't handle websites. NO WHATSAPP! Rubbish"
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight, camera quality is good, video quality is good
Cons: there was no whatsapp available, inernet webpage can't handle websites, no update for phone, no automatic incoming email, very disappointed
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Wave
Customer Avatar
Fumble
From UK
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

potentially great phone spoiled by GPS and poor support

Posted17 December 2011
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted17 December 2011
"I love the look of this phone and it is potentially great value. However it is spoiled for me by two major issues:
1. The GPS is very poor. It takes ages to find a location - if it finds a location at all
2. The Bada operating system is really good but updates from Samsung take forever to be released. As few phones use Bada there are no many apps compared to Android etc.
I generally love Samsung products and I thought this would be no exception. It looks great and is extremely well made. The screen is clear and bright and it's one of the few phones that can download iPlayer programs (in the UK) to watch later - this is great as I'm a long distance commuter.
Unfortunately the main reason I bought this phone was for the GPS and that really is very poor. Consequently location-based apps are next to useless on this phone.
It really is a pity - I think Samsung had a great product on their hands and a few tweaks could have made a world of difference."
Pros: nearly great - but not quite
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Wave
Customer Avatar
Solidgoldie
From Norfolk, UK
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Waste of time

Posted05 July 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted05 July 2012
"Without the upgrade available to Bada 2.0 (still waiting!) most of the newer apps and google maps will not work on this phone. Had mine for nearly 2 years on contract and am resigned that it will not be upgraded before the end of contract, not happy and as a result will steer clear of any Samsung phone in the future."
Cons: outdate softare not yet upgradable, sometimes shuts down and restarts for no apparent
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Wave
Customer Avatar
godishomer
From huddersfield
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Poor software upgrades reduces a fantasic phone to a brick

Posted29 May 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted29 May 2012
"Excellent phone only let down by firmware not being available so my apps won't run and i can't download bada 2.0 as it's not available in Uk"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, lack of upgrades for firmware
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Wave
Based on the average of (66) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
39 out of 52 recommend this product
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.