Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Monte

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Monte

Embrace your own personality with the striking Samsung Monte. With all the latest features including Wi-Fi, GPS and social networking, the Monte will keep you in the loop and never lost for words or direction. See how quickly this mobile finds a place in your heart.
Rating:
4.057 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(279 Reviews) 279
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 279 reviews
5 stars
146
4 stars
66
3 stars
24
2 stars
23
1 star
20
90 out of 136(66%)customers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Monte
Review 1 for Monte
Customer Avatar
sarahb
From Yarm
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Posted09 February 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted09 February 2012
"This phone is really easy to use, has loads of great features that are already on the phone so you don't need to worry about downloading apps."
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Monte
Customer Avatar
sami
From Pakistan
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best

Posted11 November 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted11 November 2011
"I have this mobile. But my main casing screen is damaged. But touch panel is safe. so i worried about it. please tell me where i get it?????????"
Pros: Bright display
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Monte
Customer Avatar
sasa
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Posted04 November 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted04 November 2011
"it is the best comparing to the phones from it's value (like : star , star wifi , corby ,corby wifi , <<>>...)
i think that it is the best full touch (inexpensive) phone
"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, full touch
Cons: no qwerty keyboard
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Monte
Customer Avatar
SOPH1998
From Quakersyard
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product has great features and its not like any other phone

Posted11 April 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted11 April 2011
"I am glad im bought this phone i had in july 2010 on my birthday im 12 by the way and i think its great if i lost it or broken it such as threw it against the wall in temper i would defo buy another one I recommend this phone!!!!!
BUY IT PEOPLE!!!!!!!!!!! :-P
"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, its never slow, it always updates your files properly, i love it!!!!, buy it people!!!!!¬!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Monte
Customer Avatar
Chuck
From London, England
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Value!

Posted22 September 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted22 September 2012
"I've had this phone for two years now and am hoping to get a new phone soon. I am nearly 14 and this was my first phone. This phone was really cheap, it does what it said and I would recommend this phone to anyone who wants a basic smart phone - it is nothing special but it does the job perfectly. The games are alright and I have never had any problems with this phone. I am a bit bored of this phone but then I'm 14 and that's what teenagers are like. This is a great first phone and it is an amazing budget smart phone."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight, budget smartphone - basic but good!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Monte
Customer Avatar
geel
From manchester england
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

loved this phone

Posted22 July 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted22 July 2012
"i've had this phone for nearly 2 years,and its only just started showing its age. it has been a good phone and has put up with alot including dropping and water damage! the camera is slightly blurry. it does occasionally freeze and then switch off but not to much so that it annoyed me and the only reason i am changing to a galaxy ace is because i want to be able to download apps. but otherwise this is s good phone and i loved it:)"
Pros: Durable
Cons: only lasts a year or two
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Monte
Customer Avatar
nolly
From london
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

facebook, sms messages, security, games

Posted28 February 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted28 February 2012
"This phone is fantastic. Ive had for about 18months and all i can say is that its my best buddy. batter life is very good, ive dropped several times and it still works. All in all a great smartphone for the price."
Pros: Bright display, Durable
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Monte
Customer Avatar
chinni
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Posted28 October 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted28 October 2011
"overall good one.. but becomes slow when it is loaded more with stuff"
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Monte
Customer Avatar
tsim
From Stroud
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

An average phone

Posted26 January 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted26 January 2012
"Quite slow and the locking feature is broken meaning it keeps ringing people by accident"
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Monte
Customer Avatar
hannah
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

simple, easy to use smartphone

Posted09 September 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted09 September 2011
"overall it is a very good phone, and does the job perfectly. have to say its virtually indestructable! in some areas it is brilliant, but lacks in others. wouldn't reccomend for someone who will be using it a lot, for business ect."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Too big
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Monte
Customer Avatar
Gloria
From Malta (EU)
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Good phone, unreliable alarm

Posted01 August 2012
Posted01 August 2012
"I am not picky when it comes to phones. Samsung Monte has enough features for me. The thing that REALLY bothers me is its alarm. I don't know if it's a recurring problem or just a fault in my phone, but the alarm doesn't always ring. At first I thought that I got some settings wrong, but no. After numerous attempts I am sure that the problem is with the phone. I missed some important appointments because of this. I am aware that this is not Samsung's most recent or innovative phone, but I'm nonetheless very, very disappointed."
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable
Cons: Poor quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Monte
Customer Avatar
jamtholee
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Great idea, lacking in some parts

Posted09 June 2011
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted09 June 2011
"Let's start with the advantages:
It's fairly cheap
It's looks good
It's got a robust build
Disadvantages:
The touch screen is sluggish
There aren't many apps
No QWERTY!!!
Accelerometer is slightly slow / rubbish
Widgets are too big
OS makes the touch screen inaccurate (When I go into the testing menu, and test the touch screen it it really accurate, for some reason when in the OS, it isn't accurate)
WIFI - Why can't it just connect to WIFI, then 3G, rather than having to set connections in the "connections" menu - It should just say, do you want to connect to this open network
The thing is, is that it's a great phone for the small price, but what it really needs is a great OS like Android or BADA. Once a firmware upgrade comes out, this phone will be brilliant, but with the propriety OS, it's not that great. I don't like the SAMSUNG OS. The phone is great value for money, but the OS somewhat makes this product slightly worse."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable
Cons: Poor quality, no qwerty, accelerometer poor, touch screen response poor, no app store
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Monte
Customer Avatar
lordjeffers
From Bristol
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Terrible user experience

Posted21 August 2011
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted21 August 2011
"My initial thoughts were that this was a decent phone. Pros - It's nice and small, touch screen, 3G, wi-fi, web browsing.
But, the browser crashes if you open any large web pages, you can set alarms for different times on different days... but then the randomly change what day they go off on! If you miss a call or text, there is no notification until you actually unlock the phone. It always unlocks itself in my pocket and deletes/moves the desktop icons around. It doesn't auto-connect to wifi. You can set the mail app to check for mail periodically, but it notifies you every time it checks, mostly to say that it has picked up 0 messages! How annoying is that?? The text interface is fiddly, and adding words to the dictionary is annoying.
Call quality is ok though."
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Monte
Based on the average of (266) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
81 out of 124 recommend this product
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.