Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Galaxy Tab 8.9(WiFi)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Galaxy Tab 8.9(WiFi)

Experience more possibilities on the go with the Samsung Galaxy Tab 8.9, which is light, slim and packed with a powerful performance. Supported by the latest Android Honeycomb 3.1 operating system, which has been designed specifically for tablet use, everything from the 3D graphics to the latest apps will capture your imagination. It also features Touch Wiz 4.0 for effortless and intuitive multitasking. Add to this the endless fun to be had with the expansive Samsung Hubs, which includes the Readers Hub, Social Hub and Music Hub, and you have the ultimate Tab experience.
Rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
5 stars
15
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
15 out of 16(94%)customers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Galaxy Tab 8.9(WiFi)
Review 1 for Galaxy Tab 8.9(WiFi)
Customer Avatar
bornblue
From UK
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Superb device - but no more support!

Posted25 April 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted25 April 2013
"Why oh why has Samsung stopped supporting this fabulous machine? I would love to upgrade it to the latest version of Android so that I could run some specific apps (e.g., Skygo) - but I can't! And if I jailbreak it the app won't download either."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: no longer supported!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Galaxy Tab 8.9(WiFi)
Customer Avatar
Ecniv
From UK
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great buy!

Posted29 March 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted29 March 2013
"After upgrading to ICS 4.x runs smooth, battery lasts (especially if you are using as a reading only). Has built in speakers (they sound quite good). It is light weight (easily one hand on back) easy to use.
I have the 16gb wifi version. Has enough space and plays back videos at a nice quality.
Only negative is a lack of memory expansion (micro sd slot) and the menu button on the mobile os is missing on ics."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Lightweight
Cons: no external memory expansion, camera is a bit bad
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Galaxy Tab 8.9(WiFi)
Customer Avatar
Ready180
From Essex
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellect Go Get One!!!!!

Posted23 May 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted23 May 2012
"Got this about a month ago, can't put it down it's perfect sized for at home or out an about.
The screen is brilliant for watching movies reading, it perfect for my life
"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Galaxy Tab 8.9(WiFi)
Customer Avatar
Old Bob
From Birmingham, UK
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

why didn't I buy one sooner?

Posted17 April 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted17 April 2012
"I bought this as a replacement for another tablet that was slow and passed its best.
I really wish I had bought the Samsung Tab sooner; fast, light, efficient and stylish. It is everything I wanted and more.
Games, films, internet, email, powerpoint and word viewer all work faultlessly, at great pace.
I find the 8.9 to be the perfect size. the 10.1 was a little big and unwieldy, and the 7" a little too small. All I have to do now is match it up to a pico projector and I have the perfect combination.
"
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight, fast, stylish
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Galaxy Tab 8.9(WiFi)
Customer Avatar
gajman
From England
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent tablet an ideal size.

Posted27 February 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted27 February 2012
"Thought it was time to try a tablet, having had bad experiences the the fruity brand using their phones, looked at their tablets but just didnt do it for me. So Android it was, after converting to their phone o/s. Samsung had great reviews everywhere, the 10.1 was nice, but just needed something more portable, anyway purchased the 8.9 from the Samsung store in London and havn't looked back, use it mostly for work - email and web browsing, google maps, angry birds etc. Watching video and the sound is suprisingly excellent through headphones for music. all works very smoothly just a little slower than expected, maybe ICS will address this?. All round a really great device."
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Galaxy Tab 8.9(WiFi)
Customer Avatar
should of been an i pad
From london
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

faulty

Posted18 June 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted18 June 2012
"The product is poor, i have had the tablet 8.9 for not even two months and already has faulty the buttons on the touch screen do not work. For the price spend a little more and get the i pad"
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Galaxy Tab 8.9(WiFi)
Based on the average of (12) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
10 out of 10 recommend this product
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.