Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Galaxy Tab (Wi-Fi)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Galaxy Tab (Wi-Fi)

The Samsung Galaxy Tab is now available with Wi-Fi only connectivity, letting users enjoy mobile performance while minimising costs. Web browsing and checking for all of your social networking and messaging services is still available; it just won’t require a phone contract. The Galaxy Tab also delivers a full web browsing experience with Flash 10.1 support on its 7” touch-screen. It also features the innovative Reader Hub and Social Hub, making it the ultimate entertainment and communication device for those on the go.
Rating:
4.201 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(308 Reviews) 308
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 308 reviews
5 stars
159
4 stars
96
3 stars
22
2 stars
18
1 star
13
164 out of 205(80%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Galaxy Tab (Wi-Fi)
Review 1 for Galaxy Tab (Wi-Fi)
Customer Avatar
IRW030370
From Oxford, UK
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Needs to be updated

Posted15 August 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted15 August 2012
"Don't get me wrong, the tablet works well; however once you get under the skin, there are some key things missing. For me, the major two are no Bluetooth HID support and no TV Out.
No Bluetooth HID support means that it cannot be connected to a normal bluetooth keyboard or mouse. It does have bluetooth, however only bluetooth spp (not hid). This means that there are only certain keyboards that can be used with it (e.g. Freedom Pro). There is an app you can download in Google Play that works around this, helping you to connect to an HID keyboard; however I have still not found a solution for the mouse issue.
No TV out is another biggie, which means that you cannot display what is on the screen via another screen, such as a TV, monitor or projector.
Other Samsung tablets and phones have this functionality; however Samsung need to release an O/S upgrade to switch these features on for this tablet. Honeycomb or Ice Cream Sandwich please!
I'm a big Samsung fan and have just ordered an SGS3 having had an SGS1 for the past 2 years; however this is a real bugbear for me. I cannot afford a new tab, so fixing these issues with a new release would really make my day. p.s. I've rooted my tab to move from Froyo to Gingerbread, which is great, but Honeycomb would be even better.
Please help me Samsung - I love you!! xx"
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive
Cons: has been left to die...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Galaxy Tab (Wi-Fi)
Customer Avatar
CJackel
From Sussex, UK
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Just a little bit disappointing

Posted08 January 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted08 January 2012
"I purchased the WiFi Tab because I couldn't afford the extra for the 3G version. I assumed that I was getting the same device, just without the 3G side but that was a bad assumption.
Over it's brother, it has a cut down processor, slower graphics processor (this is noticeable) and seemingly, little support from Samsung.
Accessories that work for the 3G version, don't all work on the WiFi version.
Despite this, it does have the same lovely display and looks of it's brother and has a good weight to it when held in your hand.
Overall, if you can, buy the 3G version."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: Did not meet expectations, slower than it's brother
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Galaxy Tab (Wi-Fi)
Customer Avatar
Justwantedagoodtab
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

i dont normally write reviews but this time i am making an exception

Posted18 October 2011
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted18 October 2011
"The product it self is not that bad. Yes you can go on the internet... but that is about it. I brought this product thinking that it would a brilliant travelling web browser. I have only had it a few months and already it is a very dated product and it is not going to get any better with time. I have searched high and low to try and find a update and everywhere i have read has stated that there is not going to be one! The product can be very jumpy, struggles with speed and isn't great at streaming videos. SO i thought i would just use it as a media device. However i can not up load anything on to it as i am a mac user and kies does not work with it.. so again it is useless on that front. A lot of apps are also not supported for it, i presume this is due to the being made for the newer android systems. The product would be good if an update was given to the latest android software and if kies was fully compatible. Until then i do not recommend the product and advice buyers to go for somethings else, somewhere else."
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Did not meet expectations, no updates, kies does not support it
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Galaxy Tab (Wi-Fi)
Customer Avatar
teddyboy19712000
From U.K.
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I personally cannot fault it

Posted14 September 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted14 September 2011
"I personally cannot fault it, the media player is loud sharp and clear, the video playback is excellent, to use as a book reader, (the kindle app), is excellent and easy to use, it has a large internal memory, will take an even bigger memory card, the internet browser is very quick, the screen is very sharp, as a telephone, (with a headset), it is loud, clear, and precise, the pc suite is easy to navigate, file transfer is easy, and since the firmware upgrade to gingerbread 3.2, there are no glitches with the software, also being samsung, you knowits a quality product"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
Cons: battery life is not spectacular
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Galaxy Tab (Wi-Fi)
Customer Avatar
Andychap
From Plymouth UK
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good but let down by lack of connectivity

Posted29 June 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted29 June 2011
"The Wifi Tab is a lovely machine to use, very tactile and easy on the eye. The screen is just the right size and it operates nice and smoothly as long as you don't have too many apps open at once.
My only gripe was not knowing about the cut backs Samsung made with the wifi only version before I bought it. You can't connect a bluetooth keyboard or mouse, there is no TV out facility and video calling with front facing camera is virtually impossible.
So don't waste your money buying accessories for it that won't work, like I did, and don't expect to keep in touch with family and friends by video. Hopefully these issues might be sorted out in the near future with firmware and OS updates.
Still I'm glad I bought it. I enjoy using it and it's a good price. There's nothing flimsy about it and if you know about the above issues you certainly won't be disappointed."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Not high def, no tv out, limited bluetooth
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Galaxy Tab (Wi-Fi)
Based on the average of (303) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
162 out of 200 recommend this product
Features 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Performance 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Design 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.