Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Galaxy Tab (3G)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Galaxy Tab (3G)

The Samsung Galaxy Tab is perfect for life on the go. The 7” touchscreen packs incredible entertainment and communication features, while a slim and light weight design ensures both comfort and portability. It features the new Android 2.2 operating system, voice and face-to-face video calling, and four new amazing Hubs (Music, Media, Readers and Social) for the ultimate tablet experience. The Galaxy Tab also supports Flash 10.1 and delivers the full web experience for you to enjoy. Enjoy life without limits with the Galaxy Tab.
Rating:
4.357 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 11(64%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Galaxy Tab (3G)
Review 1 for Galaxy Tab (3G)
Customer Avatar
Sensatus
From England
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

After nine months of ownership...

Posted21 October 2011
Posted21 October 2011
"When I bought this device in January 2011, the Gingerbread release of Android was already out, and it seemed reasonable to assume that I could upgrade Galaxy Tab to that release. Despite the relatively 'open' nature of Android, Samsung do not follow the same path and I had to wait for an official release. Of course I am still waiting. This wait is made worse by Samsung having made Gingerbread available to some Galaxy Tab users in May. Having said that, not being able to have the latest most efficient operating system for the device is my biggest issue with it. Overall, it provides the perfect hardware platform for all that Froyo 2.2 is capable of. It is the right size to fit in the pocket, while large enough for applications to be usable. Most of the time application speed is okay. The device does what it is meant to. It will never get 5 stars all the time Samsung does not apply the same standards to its software strategy as it does to hardware. Not only is the Operating System release situation unforgivably poor aftersales, but the Samsung applications (branded or bundled) do more damage than good to Samsung's brand. Apple differentiates itself by striving to have software that works the way users need. Samsung does not even bother trying to compete on that level. In particular, Kies, Samsung's PC software for managing the Galaxy Tab is possibly the worst piece of software ever written. Maybe, I am biased, being a software development manager of 30 years, but if one of my developers had churned out Kies they'd not have the chance to build its replacement.
In summary - fantastic hardware, ruined by an unintelligibly poor attitude to software."
Pros: great hardware package
Cons: poor supplied software
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Galaxy Tab (3G)
Customer Avatar
jas1rw
From Swansea, Wales, UK.
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing product. I use it for everything. Beats the iPad any day.

Posted27 October 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted27 October 2011
"This product is amazing. It runs so well, has a mass of options and pretty much does everything I need. I use it at work, at university and for home life. I have watched movies on it, entertained the family on long journeys, typed letters and essays, browsed the Internet and read many e-books with it. Its uses are endless, it is slick, high quality, amazing display and a device that always gets people asking questions. I just wish the first question they asked wasn't always "is that an iPad?" One hardcore iPad user spoke to me about how much better their iPad was than my Tab. I demonstrated all the great apps and features to their surprise, then just on cue, I get a telephone call through on it. "Can't do that on an iPad" I proudly said, slipping the Tab into my back pocket while I picked the call up on my bluetooth headset. I love it and thoroughly recommend it; even at a year old."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
15of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Galaxy Tab (3G)
Customer Avatar
CMTabGuy
From Chiang Mai, Thailand
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Incredible value, perfect size, full-featured

Posted06 September 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted06 September 2011
"The 7" Galaxy Tab is definitely a landmark device. It packs excellent performance, dual cameras, SD card slot, telephone, sat-nav, great gaming and superb business and entertainment features into an easy to carry, easy to adore, durable package. The design and performance are timeless, ensuring a long road ahead of user pleasure. The recent upgrade to Android 2.3.3 took a great user experience and elevated it to superb. The battery is adequate, but could pack a bit more of a punch. If you are looking for a compact, durable, competent road-warrior that won't tarnish, and is priced for accessibility, look no further."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, excellent performance
Cons: battery could be better
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Galaxy Tab (3G)
Customer Avatar
Colin
From Liverpool UK
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

The software on this tablet does not let you access some sections of the memory.

Posted22 January 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted22 January 2012
"I was really pleased with this tablet until recently as I cant now even turn it on and Carphone Warehouse won't help me as I never took out the help support with them.
I have tried to use the Kies software today but the tablet does not even show either on the computer or in the Kies software.
For the last few weeks I have been getting messages saying empty personal memory. The internal SD and the external sd cards do not have much on them.
So as from today this Samsung Tablet is not worth a carrot.. Samsung I need your help please...
"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Lightweight
Cons: bad software
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Galaxy Tab (3G)
Customer Avatar
HUMMY15
From MERTHYR TYDFIL
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

CAN'T STOP USING IT!

Posted14 November 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted14 November 2011
"An excellent tablet. Smooth and easy to use. Wireless connection via WIFI does not stay on for a long time. Keep disconnecting from time to time.
Kies software needs a lot of remodeling. Slow and frustrating to use. Samsung needs to look into this software. It uses a lot of memory and does not sync flawlessly with device.
All together I am pleased with my new toy, SAMSUNG TABLET P-1000.
Highly recommended. A *************
"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive
Cons: Too big
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Galaxy Tab (3G)
Customer Avatar
Luv2Shop. For privacy rea
From New York, NY
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing Product! My favorite new toy.

Posted06 April 2011
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted06 April 2011
"I purchased the Galaxy tab about a month ago. Since then I have read books via the kindle application, (which was pre-installed), listened to music with 16GB of internal space, plus can be expanded to 32GB of space, surfed the web pretty much anywhere and did all of it with a tablet the size of an e-reader.
This tablet, by far is the best in price, quality, and reliability. The only issue that I ..."
Pros: Bright display
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-6points
0of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Galaxy Tab (3G)
Customer Avatar
VickiA
From UK
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great product until...

Posted17 October 2011
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted17 October 2011
"It goes wrong, then you'll have nothing but hassle with it and who ever you talk to won't know what you're on about and refer you to the next guy (who incidentally won't call you back)!!
Was overjoyed with product when I first got it but since the WiFi connection started playing up nearly two months ago I am getting a bit fed up with various apps no longer working properly."
Pros: Lightweight
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Galaxy Tab (3G)
Customer Avatar
Luv2Shop. For privacy rea
From New York, NY
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice product, but looks like not optimized

Posted06 April 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted06 April 2011
"By Wide man 2011-04-04
I like this product. Very light but powerful features provided.
But sometime, it shows some delay while I scroll the page or some list that seems to be not optimized enough.
Especially, the Samsung shell looks like on of the reason that causes this delay and I hope Android default platform and shell is provided.
Totally, it is a good product."
Pros: Built-in speakers
Cons: Not high def
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Galaxy Tab (3G)
Customer Avatar
BadBoyBunny
From London
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not great, lack of updates.

Posted20 August 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted20 August 2012
"I got this on the 23rd of Dec 2010 and it was a huge disappointment, i stuck with it tho and Samsung went on to dump it and ignore it for the Tab 2, thanks :)"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Galaxy Tab (3G)
Customer Avatar
Samsung lover
From Cairo, Egypt
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

simply amazing

Posted19 October 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted19 October 2011
"The best tablet in the market, does everything the ipad does but in a better way. Thank u Samsung for producing such a device."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: none
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Galaxy Tab (3G)
Customer Avatar
CliffyP
From North West
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great product.

Posted26 September 2011
Posted26 September 2011
"Great product in a compact size. Only shortfall is battery life poor and screen in sunlight. All in all though its very good."
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Galaxy Tab (3G)
Customer Avatar
DOESITMATTER
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love my Galaxy Tab it does everything I want but stay charged

Posted04 October 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted04 October 2011
"It used to last all day now only half if I am lucky, my problem is trying to get a replacement battery where?"
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Galaxy Tab (3G)
Customer Avatar
JJ LL
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is best product

Posted08 February 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted08 February 2011
"This is best product i have ever seen!!
I strongly recommend this to friends!
"
Pros: Bright display
Cons: Not high def
I would recommend this to a friend!
-21points
1of 23voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Galaxy Tab (3G)
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.