Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Galaxy Portal

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Galaxy Portal

The Samsung Galaxy Portal will transform your social life with its easy-to-use visual search engine. Everything from clubs and bars to nearest taxis and cash points are easily found, and will help you discover you ultimate day out.
Rating:
2.786 / 5
2.8
 / 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
4
4 out of 12(33%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Galaxy Portal
Review 1 for Galaxy Portal
Customer Avatar
From UK
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing phone but little extras...

Posted01 February 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted01 February 2013
" I've had this phone for over a year now and I have had absolutely no problems with it whatsoever, not even one crash! The only problem this phone has is the fact it runs on Android 1.5, I rooted mine and updated it to 2.2 and it can keep up with the latest galaxy with ease (upgrading to 4.1 soon) If this phone was updatable without rooting then this would be a 5 star phone. The Spica/Portal is such an understated phone, Samsung should really bring it back or at least release some updates and cases/screen protectors for it! The speakers aren't the best but Aux makes up for it, the quality is amazing through headphones or a car radio. The multi-touch (ROM needs to be updated to allow it to work) is great aswell, as accurate as the Galaxy S III easily. I love this phone! "
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: android 1.5 unless rooted to 2.2 or 4.1.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Galaxy Portal
Customer Avatar
From N.I
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good phone lot of features and apps

Posted21 January 2012
Posted21 January 2012
" good phone had for nearly a year with no problems. Only bad thing speakers are a bit too quiet "
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Galaxy Portal
Customer Avatar
From United Kingdom
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great little android phone

Posted26 September 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted26 September 2011
" after buying a phone just to see what android is about i think this phone is pretty good overall i have no problems with it, great little phone apps are good phone its self it great, just as good as a iphone! "
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Galaxy Portal
Customer Avatar
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great phone but runs on Android 1.5 :(

Posted26 April 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted26 April 2011
" Basically, this phone is extremely good and capable of doing anything. However with an extremely old version of Android, the phone loses it's praise. A lot of apps that are recently released are not available on the old Android systems. I do not see how hard it is to update the system infomation and Android. If it had Android 2.2, I would rate it 5 stars. "
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: runs on android 1.5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Galaxy Portal
Customer Avatar
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good phone overall.. but only no android 2.2

Posted01 March 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted01 March 2011
" this phone is fast with its 800mhz processor. it gets everything done, and is great with a 3.2 inch screen. at the cost the phone is totally worth it.
however, the only downside was that it does not have android 2.2, this was a shame because a lot of people preferred android froyo (2.2). there still is a possibilty for the upgrade but highly unlikely.
overall the phone is worth the money and has a great processor, all for a reasonable price, with the only let down of not having android 2.2.
"
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight, 800 mhz processor
Cons: not android 2.2
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Galaxy Portal
Customer Avatar
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not what I expected.

Posted10 October 2011
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted10 October 2011
" I had this phone for 6months, I thought it would be really could as it's a Samsung and runs Android, however I was disappointed, my phone kept freezing on me, and I'd have to reboot it 5 or 6 times a day, after about a month of owning the phone, my SMS stopped working requiring me to download an app to take over the SMS duties.
However, when it did work, it was a good phone, the speakers and camera were good, and it's simple to use, a newer version of Android might be good on it as well.
"
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Galaxy Portal
Customer Avatar
From Malta
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Seems like a good phone but it lets itself down due to software.

Posted21 September 2011
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted21 September 2011
" This phone is much less than I expected. When I ran it for the first couple of days it worked great everything was blazing fast touch sensitivity and response could have been better but were still arguably good. The big problem with this phone is the software. The thing is prehistoric, if not the first android version it's one of the earliest. I tried to update it to 2.1 with the kies but I wasted 2-3hrs trying to get the software to recognize my phone and then to download the OS and install and everything.
With the 2.1 it slows down a bit more but is still very usable but and this is a big BUT, it does not have android 2.2.
The 2.2 is such an important update. It speeds up the system through a different kernel, it allows installation of apps on the SD card so the limit of apps goes up from a miniscule 180Mb to as much as 32Gb and has overall better quality.
Overall the hardware itself is pretty impressive including the design and to top it off it is lightweight and compact. What lets it down is the software and for this I would not recommend it to anyone. There are much better phones for a bit more money. I don't see the problem with updating it to 2.2 the hardware is very capable of handling it. "
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight, can support multi-touch with a bit of tweaking
Cons: Did not meet expectations, no 2.2 froyo :(
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Galaxy Portal
Customer Avatar
From Hull, UK
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

OK phone. One step up from old phone's

Posted24 December 2011
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted24 December 2011
" This phone at first was great. But after getting use to using it, it is just as good as a standard phone but with the added features of a touch screen and android. 2 weeks after I got it, the "back button" and the "home button" became very tempremantal and then 8 months later they stoped working altogether. It crashes whenever I make a phone call and when I recieve a phone call whilst using an app or game. very bad value for money "
Pros: Built-in speakers
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Galaxy Portal
Customer Avatar
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Needs better support...

Posted21 July 2011
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted21 July 2011
" The support on this phone is horrible. For starters the firmware updater service ( kies ) is far from decent as there are many errors regarding even just the simple part of connecting it with Kies and yet on the official website of Samsung, they are recommening this program on this phone which Kies says it isn't supported for... Sort your Support out or I can promise you that I will not be buying another Andriod product for a long time.
The support disappointed me because the phone isn't actually to bad, other than a little bit of lag, which you can expect from a touchscreen phone, all in all it is a great phone. :)
"
Pros: Lightweight
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Galaxy Portal
Customer Avatar
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

This product starts out fantastic and slowly looses battery power and speed

Posted02 July 2011
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted02 July 2011
" I cant download any more than one app on my phone as it instantly slows it down to an unexcusably slow pace! I have had the phone for about a year now and the battery wont even last a full day on one charge. I have had to buy numerous chargers as they break easily leaving you without a mobile! I would strongly recommend spending extra and getting a stronger smartphone with more competetive features and faster processing. "
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, slow, poor battery
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Galaxy Portal
Customer Avatar
From Manchester
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not good

Posted07 December 2012
Posted07 December 2012
" The keyboard is not accurate and there is no flashbulb for the camera "
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Not high def
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Galaxy Portal
Customer Avatar
From England
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

a good phone only if you were in the year 2000

Posted12 February 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted12 February 2012
" this phone is slow not fast even if it has 800MHG it still carnt get the job done im sorry but its not worth it my phone freezes it lags on certain things i do the rotation sometimes freezes as well and randomly it reboots it self and i havent even damged it "
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, Not high def, Did not meet expectations, very slow
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Galaxy Portal
Customer Avatar
From UK
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

This is one of the worst phone I ever seen. Phone hangs frequently , it takes lot of time to boot up.

Posted27 December 2011
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted27 December 2011
" This is one of the worst phone I ever seen. Phone hangs frequently , it takes lot of time to boot up. After using this phone I lost confidence on Samsung, I wont recommend Samsung to any one. "
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Galaxy Portal
Customer Avatar
From UK
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Looks good but doesn't work as well as it looks

Posted29 August 2011
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted29 August 2011
" I have have an i5700 on the 3 network and have to say I have done nothing but fight with it for the last 12 months (and unfortunately due to my contract I have another 12 to go!). The software has consistantly crashed and has been sent back twice. The handstrap is kept on by a flimsy peg and has a tendancy to fall off. Additionally is the fact that the handset has to be switched on to be able to use the alarm which has the knock on effect of the WiFi crashing after about a week of constant use. As the Android is on 2.2 you can install any apps on SD cards so the handset fills up really quickly which severely limits the number of apps you can have.
All in all it looks good but doesn't deliver in anyway on performance or promise. On the whole I suggest you avoid this handset from the Samsung Range. "
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, poor storage, tendancy to crash
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.