Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Solid Extreme

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Solid Extreme

The slim and stylish Samsung Solid Extreme delivers the best of both worlds. It is packed with outdoor friendly features such as loud external speakers and water resistance, which perform in even the harshest of elements, while still maintaining a stylish look and feel. This mobile phone is perfect for all occasions.
Rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
13 out of 16(81%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Solid Extreme
Review 1 for Solid Extreme
Customer Avatar
From Devon, UK
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Still going strong after 3 1/2 years. Does what it says on the box!

Posted16 June 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted16 June 2013
" I bought my SIM free B2100 3 1/2 years ago. I needed a good reliable rugged phone, since, at the time, I was heavily involved with Search & Rescue in the South West. Dartmoor can be a most inhospitable place at 3am in the middle of winter! After another soaking while out on the moor this weekend, the phone has just emerged from the washing machine with my (now) clean running kit. Apart from a nice clean case and keypad, phone is fully functional! Try doing that with an i-device! "
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, moorland runner proof!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Solid Extreme
Customer Avatar
From Cheshire, United Kingdom
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The best phone I've ever had

Posted20 February 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted20 February 2013
" This isn't a smart phone, so obviously most of your friends will at first brag about theirs and try to convince you it's old-fashioned and rubbish. One of mine actually put his iPhone in my face, playing a clip from Indiana Jones ("It belongs in a museum!!"), which admittedly I did find rather funny... But if you think about it, a phone is for making calls and sending texts on the go... maybe taking a couple of happy-snaps on the camera when you didn't feel the need to bring out your decent camera. It does all of these things extremely well.
I also find it far more convenient than a smart phone, because I'm not constantly frightened that the battery is going to expire before I can get to a charger. In fact, on the subject of battery life, this phone gives me around three weeks with occasional use, reducing to perhaps one week if I make a lot of calls. Comparing that to my HTC One S, which now manages a single day on standby, you can see why I haven't abandoned my trusty B2100. So I wholeheartedly maintain that this B2100 is far better than any smartphone. It never leaves me stranded without a phone.
I also like the fact that I'm not a slave to this phone. My HTC bleeps and chirps constantly, demanding attention, as it integrates itself with my social networking and e-mail, and people take advantage knowing they can get hold of me by any means anywhere. With my B2100, I don't get the information overload. People ring or txt me if it's actually important (and they always can, remember what I said about battery life?). I also like the fact that I don't have to worry about constant software/security updates you do with a smartphone.
As for features... the handy built-in torch has light many a night time walk or roadside-repair on my retro Ford. The camera actually takes quite reasonable pictures, e.g. landscape in daylight, or a portrait. If I am somewhere that warrants high quality pictures, that's what my digital SLR is for. The music player is quite reasonable, and with a memory card in the phone you can fit enough music on to keep you occupied for a little while. Granted, this phone provides few or no "apps" and modern features such as social networking, but it really doesn't need them. They're just clutter. I can't praise this phone highly enough. It's a fantastic PHONE. Other people who buy smartphones are actually getting mediocre pocket computers. Therefore out of everyone I know, I have the best phone.
This phone also has outstanding call quality. Heavy metal music has destroyed my hearing and this is one of the few phones where I can actually understand what the caller is saying. It's particularly good outdoors. I do wonder if they've put some sort of noise-cancellation wizardry in it, seeing as it's marketed at outdoorsy-types.
Where this phone really comes in to its own though, is where and how you can use it... I am that "certain type of person" that this phone was marketed at. I like outdoor pursuits, such as mountaineering, canooeing, walking, bushcraft... I also get quite grubby doing all my own diy servicing and repairs on my cars. This leads me to the B2100's real forte, its legendary durability... I have dropped it about 20 feet over a rocky ledge when mountaineering, dropped it in a stream and a lake, and regularly use it in the shower. It works and even looks like it did the day I bought it. Now try that with your iPhone or Galaxy. Enough said. "
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, outstanding battery life, good call-quality, simplicity/ease of use, waterproof
Cons: not good if you're addicted to facebook or twitter, phone-camera not as sharp as an actual camera
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Solid Extreme
Customer Avatar
From Ireland
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Can Survive Anything...Almost

Posted29 June 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted29 June 2012
" This is the best phone i ever got.Three months after I got it I lost it on a farm and 8 months later I found it outside where there had been a huge puddle of water and it had been driven over by a tractor. I took it home and washed it and charged it and it worked! Unfortunately after being out in the rain for 8 months its waterproofing was finished and when I dropped it in a pond that was the end of it.I'm Upgrading to the Samsung Xcover 2 will write a review of that when I get it. But the best thing about this Phone was when I got bored I could just through it around with my friends if we didn't have a football. You don't need a smartphone with this phone instead of playing angry birds and throughing birds at some pigs you can just through your phone at some pigs with this phone "
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, waterproof
Cons: not permanantly waterproof
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Solid Extreme
Customer Avatar
From BRADFORD
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Posted24 March 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted24 March 2012
" I have had my b2100 for 2years and are about to re contract and will have the same phone as a builder it dose what it says on the box 5 star "
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Solid Extreme
Customer Avatar
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Phone of steel

Posted18 March 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted18 March 2012
" This phone has performed exactly like i wanted it to. It has been wet, stepped on, thrown, and scratched. in one particular circumstance a 250 lb sheep stepped on it and it took me 10 minutes to find it because of the depth it was shoved into the mud. This is not a smart phone but a basic phone, i can operate it easily and without issues. It is much like a phone built into an otterbox. I would change the rubberized coating on the back, it is hard to get into and out of jeans pockets. "
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Solid Extreme
Customer Avatar
From Wales
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Never Fails

Posted19 February 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted19 February 2012
" This phone has lasted me two years, its a bit battered now but continues to work regardless. This includes daily use in a motor garage, subject to camping trips and being used in horrific weather. I have dropped this in many pints for a laugh, launched it as far as I could accross a car park and even had someone stamp on it when I said it was indestructable... They were impressed, I was relived when it was still working fine afterwards.
Its not high tech, it doe snot take great photos, and I have never been online with it. However it works as a phone, I can send texts and its battery lasts a week. "
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, good battery
Cons: no flash on camera
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Solid Extreme
Customer Avatar
From England
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

indestructible

Posted08 January 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted08 January 2012
" I have been using this phone for over a year day and night for my work. I needed a phone that copes with extremely heavy use in outdoors. It has never failed, it is handy an does the job I need it to do. "
Pros: Durable
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Solid Extreme
Customer Avatar
From Wales
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exactly what it says on the tin.

Posted01 November 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted01 November 2011
" Saw this phone in the farmers weekly and fell in love instantly, mainly because of it's durability - me being a farmer. This was proven yesterday when i accidently put it in the washing machine for a 1 hour full cycle! When i realized my mistake at the end of the cycle i got it out and it worked perfeclty, wasn't affected at all! plus it smelt great! Definately would reccomend, only fault is the screen - small and poor resolution, but nothing a pair of specs wouldn't solve. Love the torch aswell. "
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight, torch
Cons: screen
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Solid Extreme
Customer Avatar
From Swindon, Wiltshire.
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Really tough and waterproof to the max !

Posted05 December 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted05 December 2012
" Great phone for outdoors or hard use. Mine went through a hot wash cycle (by accident!) and came out working perfectly and smelling very nice too.
Only downside is the text function, which doesn't have all the punctuation I'd like. Minor point but important to those who value correct use of the language.
"
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Solid Extreme
Customer Avatar
From Beaconsfield, Buckinghamshire, England
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Pig proof!

Posted30 June 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted30 June 2012
" Took a while to get used to, and I'm convinced it has a mind of it's own sometimes but if you want a go-anywhere-do-anything kind of 'phone then it's up to all the dirty, dusty, wet tasks that I've put it through. Found it in the pig-pen once when I didn't even know I'd lost it. Bit scratched and it took a while for the smell to wear off even though I washed it twice, oh yes! And no, I'm not kidding. "
Pros: Durable
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Solid Extreme
Customer Avatar
From Cornwall, UK
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Yes, Its solid!

Posted06 August 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted06 August 2011
" I work as a Professional Outdoor Instructor. This phone has been a godsend. It comes with me on coasteering and paddling trips and gets immersed in salt water, and today I dropped it 80 feet down a cliff. It hit a ledge at about 40 feet, then hit the ground. Its still in one piece and still works fine! Magic "
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Solid Extreme
Customer Avatar
From London
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Samsung B2100

Posted31 March 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted31 March 2011
" This is what its supposed to be.........a Phone, not a portable pc. I have had mine for 4 months and cannot fault it....good battery life,handy torch,just right ....I love it "
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable
Cons: nothing
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Solid Extreme
Customer Avatar
From North Yorkshire
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great phone but let down by the plastic screen

Posted16 December 2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted16 December 2011
" I've had my B2100 for 18 months and it's survived well in my usual outdoor environment. Where it has been disappointing is through Samsung's use of a very flimsy plastic screen (in front of the LED). This screen has been easily scratched when left in a trouser pocket but most recently, after a day on the farm, the screen has completely split. I can only think that I must have pressed against something to cause the damage but, now that the weather can get in, I'm now no better off than I was with an old Nokia. The answer for Samsung is obvious... Use a toughened glass screen please!
Can anyone recommend where I can get mine fixed?
"
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable
Cons: Did not meet expectations
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Solid Extreme
Customer Avatar
From ayrshire
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

This phone has a handy torch and an exceptionally good battery but nothing else

Posted26 January 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted26 January 2012
" Was misled into buying this phone by favourable reviews.Earphone sound is too low. Loudspeaker is great but button to utilise it is recessed and virtually inaccessible to big agricultural, or gloved , fingers. Same applies to keys for texting.Ring tone is too quiet to hear in a tractor and vibration alert is feeble If you plan to drop your phone from heights or submerge it , great. Otherwise, get a better phone with more features and look after it! "
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Not high def, Did not meet expectations, sound volume, acess to keys
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Solid Extreme
Customer Avatar
From Netherlands
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Phone is fine. Software makes it useless

Posted12 November 2011
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted12 November 2011
" The phone is really good. still works fine after taking it with me on rainy days. But, I hate typing contacts. I really want to sync my contacts with outlook. Just doesnt work. Will buy other phone, that does not use the most awful piece of software called New PC Studio. "
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: bad software
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Solid Extreme
Customer Avatar
From burgess hill
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Software fault

Posted01 December 2011
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted01 December 2011
" I bought 6 of these for my on-site workers because they were rugged. Unfortunately, all 6 phones, on the same day, developed the same software fault 3 days before the warranty expired, whereby the phone keeps rebooting itself. Although I got the service centre to repair them the first time around, the same fault has developed again on all 6 phones and they are now out of warranty and I'll have to pay. Very annoying as this is a manufacturer fault. "
Pros: Durable
Cons: manufacturing fault
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.