Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Smart Camera WB850F

Smart Camera WB850F

Choose a high-performance camera that makes it easy to store and share your shots. The Samsung WB850F Smart Camera features built-in Wi-FI, so you can transfer images to online social networks and cloud services quickly. Multi-award winning Schneider- KREUZNACH optics and a bright 16 megapixel BSI CMOS sensor let you capture memories with outstanding detail and clarity. With 21x Optical Zoom and 23mm wide-angle lens, you can get as close as you need to and fit everything you want into the shot. GPS functionality also makes the WB850F the perfect travel partner, with location recording and local attraction listings.
Rating:
3.806 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 31 reviews
5 stars
13
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
4
23 out of 30(77%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
21 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Smart Camera WB850F
Review 1 for Smart Camera WB850F
Customer Avatar
From North Wales
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

The image quality is excellent

Posted04 February 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted04 February 2013
"I took this with me to use in Budapest and the battery life was awful, I was so disappointed as it only lasted for about 25-30 photos and the GPS took forever to find my location. I have just downloaded a firmware update and hope this will sort the battery issues out. If the camera is left unused over a couple of days the battery drains completely. However the image quality is excellent and it is a convenient size to carry around in your pocket"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Smart Camera WB850F
Customer Avatar
From Southampton
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very good Camera

Posted10 November 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted10 November 2012
"This is a great little camera, but remember to download the file from Samsung and you won't have anymore problems with a flat battery I downloaded the update for this camera and everything has been perfect since, battery lasts for ages now."
Pros: good all rounder
Cons: none realy just make sure you download the update
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Smart Camera WB850F
Customer Avatar
From UK
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Mac users forget it!

Posted02 September 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted02 September 2012
"I bought this to replace a stolen Panasonic. Got it home keen to check out the features (e.g. WiFi back up - wouldn't have lost my pics if I had this, and GPS - tagging for holiday snaps). On paper it looked good but from a practical point of view it is limited. The software does not support Mac OS at all. You have to have Windows. As a result, you cannot WiFi back up (only wired download) and you cannot run GPS because you cannot load the map data it asks for via the download manager. All in all the "SMART" features are pretty dumb if you don't support Microsoft. Very disappointing."
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Smart Camera WB850F
Customer Avatar
From UK
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Would be an awesome camera... if all the features worked right

Posted27 August 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted27 August 2012
"This could be a great compact camera - the pictures it produces are clearly better than I got from my previous prosumer unit, especially in low light. The SMART auto mode is brilliant and made the right choices in a wide variety of settings. Battery life seemed OK to me. BUT many of the extra features either don't work, or don't work well...
- GPS takes ages to acquire a location, especially in built up areas. It's like GPS units from 5+ years ago. About 30% of photos from a recent holiday actually got geo-tagged.
- Couldn't get MobileLink to work at all; tried two different Android phones
- The UI for that and the other wi-fi based features is clunky.
- It often takes several seconds to start zooming in
- The camera suffered from occasional lock-ups requiring me to remove and replace the battery to get it working again. This got worse as the SD card got fuller. Swapping to an empty SD card resolved the problem. Seems it can only handle about 8Gb of images on one card. Shame I bought a 16Gb cad for a two week holiday.
Maybe a future firmware upgrade will fix these problems. Until then, I'd look elsewhere."
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Smart Camera WB850F
Customer Avatar
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Why buy a camera you can't turn on?

Posted18 August 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted18 August 2012
"Bought a spare battery as i thought the factory supplied had a fault! Turns out it's the camera with the fault! It has let me down on several occasions! battery is charged the night before, but the following morning it is flat again without even being turned on! Firmware update needed before you waste your money."
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Smart Camera WB850F
Customer Avatar
From Fife UK
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Absolute waste of money

Posted26 July 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted26 July 2012
"Everytime you go to use the camera the battery is flat.
I bought a spare battery and charger but still feel that its a poor show having to do this
I would not recommend to anyone until battery problems are sorted.
"
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Smart Camera WB850F
Customer Avatar
From Greater London
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Shame about the battery life and Mobile link

Posted16 July 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted16 July 2012
"I purchased this camera to replace my CL65 (which was excellent) and was looking forward to the extra connectivity it should provide with my Samsung S3 & smart TV. After fully charging the battery and setting it up all seemed to work well, computer backup fine, link to TV fine also Mobile Link worked with my S3 and my wifes S2.
With the passing of a couple of days non use, when I switched it on the battery was empty and this continued to happen over a number of weeks with the battery showing empty after a short period of non use.
The Mobile link also stopped working.
I returned the camera to the store where purchased and opted for a replacement WB850F, a week has now passed since this change over and exactly the same problems are happening in the replacement. Back to the store later this week to get a refund.
"
Cons: poor battery life, mobile link worked once but never again
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
7of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Smart Camera WB850F
Customer Avatar
From East Midlands, UK
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great allrounder

Posted16 June 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted16 June 2012
"I bought this camera as an alternative to my SLR which is a bit bulky and heavy to carry everywhere. So far it has exceeded expectations and got me some shots that my SLR would not.
Used full zoom to take pictures of various people on stage in quite low light. Results are excellent - no shake and good exposure. Same with the video functions and the sound is good enough for a small device.
Panorama mode works well - no visible joins.
Loaded the remote viewfinder onto a Galaxy S phone and it works well.
"
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
Galaxy S
3.5 out of 5(53)
 
 
 
 
 
 
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Smart Camera WB850F
Customer Avatar
From high wycombe.buckinghamshire
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

panorama one sweep,wifi communications,editing in camera features,

Posted17 May 2012
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted17 May 2012
"I bought this camera to substitute for a dslr in tricky situations..I find it ideal .In some cases better.Liket the one sweep panorama.I do not have to worry about the joins in the photograph.Then being able to send it home straight to my printer ,which has its own email adress.or to my android pad which can also control the camera .With a remote viewfinder app from the app store.Another app is mobile link so you can send pictures to your mobile phone or your android pad gallery.You can send pictures straight to your computer without wires.Scene modes are exellent.One thing I would like to have seen on this camera is motion photo.On this camera we must not forget the exellent lens.23 wide angle 22x zoom gives fantastic photos at all lengths.My friends think the compass and gps function are great (never forget where you took the photo).This feature could be improved on.You have to load map imformation from the web site.With sat nav technology surley you could put a chip with the map imformation on it.Final words samsung are not as well known as the big camera boys but they are showing the way forward in compact digital cameras.Well worth 5 stars."
Pros: quality comprable with a dslr
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
My product recommendations
 
+28points
30of 32voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Smart Camera WB850F
Based on the average of (22) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
19 out of 21 recommend this product
Features 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Performance 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Design 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.