Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for DVD-SH897MDVD Player with HDD

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

DVD-SH897MDVD Player with HDD

The Samsung DVD SH897M is so much more than just a DVD player. It gives access to over 40 Freeview digital TV channels, which allows you to record, pause and play back thanks to a 320GB hard drive. Add to this the one-touch remote and automatic upscaling feature, and you have a DVD player that is packed with entertainment value.
Rating:
1.4 / 5
1.4
 / 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 5 reviews
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
3
0 out of 5(0%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for DVD-SH897MDVD Player with HDD
Review 1 for DVD-SH897MDVD Player with HDD
Customer Avatar
Mitch
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Probably quite good but terrible instructions.

Posted04 October 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted04 October 2012
"I bought this as an upgrade as it has an internal hard drive and it also went with my Samsung television. It has taken me ages to get it to work correctly even though I have read the instruction manual from cover to cover.
I am now able to record scheduled programmes to the hard drive . I have been trying to do this for at least the past two years without success but tried one more time so my son could watch late night american football. As far as I can see I followed the instructions as I had done before. I was astonished to find it worked and continues to do so.
The instructions are almost unreadable. Most annoying is terminology used throughout a description that is never fully explained. I will keep using it as I can now get it to work but am disappointed as the TV is vastly superior.
"
Pros: Durable
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for DVD-SH897MDVD Player with HDD
Customer Avatar
happy clappie
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Posted23 November 2011
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted23 November 2011
"Image aspect ratio changes erratically when replaying recorded programme on TV.
After disconnecting from mains due to electrical work in my house, it no longer recognised most channels, using only PR1 to PR4. I tried autotune, which seemed to work, as it whent through the process, but no luck. So I can no longer record BBC4 for example.
"
Cons: Did not meet expectations, see review
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for DVD-SH897MDVD Player with HDD
Customer Avatar
Charlie
From Scotland
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Posted02 March 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted02 March 2012
"This is a useless piece of junk don't buy it. It fails to record properly and sticks constantly. waste of money"
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for DVD-SH897MDVD Player with HDD
Customer Avatar
woodlands
From preston
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

A piece of rubbish !!!!!!!!!!!!

Posted15 February 2012
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted15 February 2012
"it is the most akward thing ever ! it dosnt do what its supposed to do, its an expensive ornament basicaly."
Cons: Poor quality, waste of money and time
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for DVD-SH897MDVD Player with HDD
Customer Avatar
not samsung
From Chester
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

don't buy it

Posted24 August 2011
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted24 August 2011
"slow in performing any function, start video 5 minutes before time and finish 5 minutes before time, some times it stops halfway a schedule recording, sometimes it refuses to play back a recording, it freezes during playback, very confusing remote and more to list."
Cons: Poor quality
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.