Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for BD-F6500 Smart 3D Blu-ray & DVD Player

BD-F6500 Smart 3D Blu-ray & DVD Player

Choose a smarter Blu-ray player and discover a vivid and varied world of entertainment. The Samsung BD-F6500 Smart 3D Blu-ray and DVD Player gives you access to online content including the full range of Catch-up TV services*, ITV Player, BBC iPlayer, 4oD and Demand 5. You can even enjoy a new level of realism and excitement with stunning Full HD 3D viewing. And, thanks to Samsung’s AllShare, you can share content from smartphones, tablets and more. *Apps shown are available or coming soon on all 2013 Samsung Smart AV products
Rating:
4.452 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 31 reviews
5 stars
18
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
27 out of 30(90%)customers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for BD-F6500 Smart 3D Blu-ray & DVD Player
Review 1 for BD-F6500 Smart 3D Blu-ray & DVD Player
Customer Avatar
Casdeluc
From North England
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent piece of kit

Posted08 November 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted08 November 2013
"Excellent value for money and top class video performance. The internet applications are a real bonus although performance is a little slow compared to using a laptop
My only quibble is the touch sensitive controls on top of the player which can be easily activated by accident"
Pros: Inexpensive
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for BD-F6500 Smart 3D Blu-ray & DVD Player
Customer Avatar
Matt
From Bristol, England
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Annoying Network Music Problem

Posted15 January 2014
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted15 January 2014
"This is a feature packed box! However, the music player functions are marred by the way that it insists on listing your ripped CD tracks in alphabetical order rather than the track order. I bought this initially to play music from a Buffalo network drive media player but thought that the blu-ray, blinkbox and netflix etc would be useful additions. The SMART functions have upgraded our tv/hifi system massively but the music player functions are a disappointment. Hopefully this can be resolved with a software update?"
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for BD-F6500 Smart 3D Blu-ray & DVD Player
Customer Avatar
Clem_Dye
From Harrogate, North Yorkshire, UK
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good, but not great .....

Posted08 November 2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
Posted08 November 2013
"For pure functionality and features the BD-F6500 is a good unit. I bought it mainly for the catch-up services, which generally work well, but it's great at playing blu-ray discs, and the added bonus of the vTuner app for Internet radio was good news. Grumbles include the 'grey bar' problem on iPlayer playback (seems to affect several Samsung units), DVD playback is a bit iffy sometimes, the lack of gapless playback of FLAC audio files was disappointing and it's annoying that the front panel display can't be dimmed. Connection to the Samsung network seems pretty flaky too. Overall though, VFM!"
Pros: Inexpensive, catch-up tv, good feature set
Cons: bbc iplayer problems, display can't be dimmed
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for BD-F6500 Smart 3D Blu-ray & DVD Player
Customer Avatar
Pingu555
From Southern England
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

ok but should have done more research first

Posted22 November 2013
Posted22 November 2013
"its great to be able to access iplayer etc but when trying to watch a programme, it skipped and stopped. I have fibre optic broadband and never have these problems when watching on my pc. Trying to go back a few minutes on the iplayer app to re watch something was painful as it skipped, froze and then jumped back to the beginning. I find the navigation to be clumsy. Also I cannot seem to download "allshare" onto my pc which apparently you need in order for my pc to talk to the blueray. The device sees my pcs on the network but refuses to access my videos and photos. I am still struggling to work round this issue as that's what I bought the blueray for was for the iplayer/on demand apps as I already have a sky box so didn't need a settop box and I wanted to be able to communicate with my pc to show my own photos on the tv downstairs."
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Did not meet expectations
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for BD-F6500 Smart 3D Blu-ray & DVD Player
Customer Avatar
saloppete12
From shrewsbury
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Disappointed

Posted07 May 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted07 May 2013
"Blu ray playback seems fine but the player does not have itvplayer or 5 on demand as advertised. The interface is OK but seems clunky and is far too slow. iplayer skips frames too. Overall a I'am disappointed by this product."
Cons: Did not meet expectations
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
2of 8voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for BD-F6500 Smart 3D Blu-ray & DVD Player
Based on the average of (26) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
25 out of 26 recommend this product
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.