Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for BD-F5100 Networking Blu-ray & DVD Player

BD-F5100 Networking Blu-ray & DVD Player

Choose a better-connected Blu-ray player for smarter entertainment possibilities. The Samsung BD-F5100 Blu-ray Player gives you easy access to a world of embedded online content. You can also plug in your USB stick or external HDD drive and access movies, photos, music and more.
Rating:
4.277 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(94 Reviews) 94
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 94 reviews
5 stars
57
4 stars
21
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
6
74 out of 89(83%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for BD-F5100 Networking Blu-ray & DVD Player
Review 1 for BD-F5100 Networking Blu-ray & DVD Player
Customer Avatar
From Hertfordshire, UK
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Nice player which would be excellent value for money if the BBC iplayer worked.

Posted26 January 2014
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted26 January 2014
"Player is a nice, compact unit and the DVD/BD funtionality works well. The network features are sparse with only YouTube and BBC iplayer apps offered but given the price it's still worth having. Unfortunately the iplayer app simply does not work, with it freezing the whole player when you try to play a program. Only a hard power-off or pressing and holding the power button on the unit fixes it. This problem appears to have been introduced with the latest firmware (Nov 2013) but as of end Jan 2014, there is no fix available. This is a great shame as i particularly wanted the iplayer funtionality so it will be going back if no fix appears soon."
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, software faulty, poor support
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for BD-F5100 Networking Blu-ray & DVD Player
Customer Avatar
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Disappointing feature set

Posted01 December 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted01 December 2013
"I bought this player as a birthday present, unaware that it lacked basic features that you would expect from a modern blu-ray/dvd player.
This player does not have wi-fi.
This player does not support Lovefilm.
Samsung's feature page is very misleading as it shows a picture of a full desktop full of apps - whereas it actually only supports iplayer and youtube. The iplayer software is also dysfunctional. I am sure this player is only being sold strategically to increase the price of more expensive players. A very disappointing player which is not competitively priced considering the poor feature set. If all you want is a player for blu-ray and dvd discs then this player is probably okay, but there is no reason for a modern player like this to not offer other features. Frankly I was gutted when I found out that this player lacked any of the features I had expected, and we have since changed it for something else. I would really not recommend wasting your time with this player, and I really expected more from the Samsung brand."
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, no wifi, no lovefilm, no ability to download other smart apps
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for BD-F5100 Networking Blu-ray & DVD Player
Customer Avatar
From Bath, UK
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Plays BluRays

Posted11 November 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted11 November 2013
"This Blu-Ray player will play Blu-Rays but that's all it does well. Viewing YouTube is ok as long as you don't mind taking ages to enter your search words. BBCi Player also has worked for me but I still have problems with it not working from time to time. I have connected the Blu-Ray to my home hub along with a NAS drive to play video content but the Blu-Ray player stops responding all the time and fails to play media. I can watch an mkv file on my PC and it's fine but the Samsung player only allows me to watch about 20 minutes. If it didn't play at all I would put it down to Codecs or if it played with breaks I would suggest the Bandwith was insufficient. But I cannot work out why it would play 20 minutes without any problems and then just stop.
Another problem I have is the interface just stops working and I have to un-plug it to get it working again. I've been waiting for a Firmware upgrade from Samsung in the hope of a fix but still nothing!
If you just want something to Play Blu-Ray discs then this is a good player. But if you want to use DLNA don't bother.
"
Cons: Did not meet expectations, poor comaptability, slow to respond, locks up
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for BD-F5100 Networking Blu-ray & DVD Player
Customer Avatar
From UK
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Disks always freeze

Posted23 May 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted23 May 2013
"It is smart looking and small and cheap, and does indeed start up very quickly. However I've not managed to watch an entire film from start to finish without it freezing, jumping, or skipping. Not very happy at all."
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for BD-F5100 Networking Blu-ray & DVD Player
Customer Avatar
From East Midlands
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Does what it does very well, but limited to only 2 Apps.

Posted07 May 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted07 May 2013
"Totally agree with previous reviewer...
This is a very nice disc player - small size, easy setup, quick start & high quality for playback. Small and stylish too. Particularly good if you have a fairly recent Samsung TV as the remote works with it.
BUT the inbuilt apps are very limited. The product description mentions "native apps such as BBC iPlayer and YouTube..." but in this case "such as" means "ENTIRELY LMITED TO" - these are the only ones available for this model! (I raised a support case and Samsung confirmed this)
I think Samsung are therefore over-selling it calling it a "world of online content" in the product overview.
Strange to have such a limitation on this particular model given that most of the necessary technology seems to be built in anyway.
For a bit more money I'd recommend getting a model with full app support if at all interested in functionality other than disc playback.
"
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight, quick startup, small & stylish
Cons: limited apps
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for BD-F5100 Networking Blu-ray & DVD Player
Customer Avatar
From Bristol
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great, but lacks online content

Posted11 April 2013
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Posted11 April 2013
"When I first purchased and started using this player I was very happy with it, the picture quality is crisp and sharp with a clean looking interface all packed into a tiny box with touch sensitive buttons that match my TV.
But then I discovered that the only apps available were You Tube and BBC iPlayer, there are none of the movie streaming services (Netflix/Lovefilm), or other TV stations services (4oD/Demand 5/ITV Player) available. It seems 'a world of embedded online content' is really not that much. Why these apps are available on the F5500 (same model but with 3D) baffles me.
Every now and then I find myself going back to my 4 year old Sony Blu-ray player as it's got far more apps and online content (even if the interface is painfully slow and complex). With a firmware update to match the F5500 this player would be amazing, but until then I'm going to be frustrated and disappointed every time I want to watch catch up TV that isn't from the BBC."
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight, compact
Cons: Did not meet expectations, poor online content
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for BD-F5100 Networking Blu-ray & DVD Player
Based on the average of (88) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
74 out of 83 recommend this product
Features 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Performance 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Design 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.